W9, #2: THE DAY AFTER

Who: Periods 4 & 7 only

Set-Up: In Chapter 9, the boys savagely kill Simon during the storm.  Needless to say, ‘in the moment’ none of the boys seem to realize what they are doing, as they believe that Simon is ‘the beast’.

Challenge: Imagine being one of the boys waking up the next morning.  Given the realities on the island at this point, what would you have done the next morning?

Length: 5+ sentences:

Additionally: If you’ve already read Ch 10 (by the time you write this), consider the following as a part of your answer:

  • Would you have acted more like Ralph, admitting what they had done (“murder”) but slowly finding excuses as Piggy talked to him?
  • Would you have acted more like Piggy, immediately blaming the death on Simon’s own actions and trying to convince Ralph not to take responsibility?
21 responses to “W9, #2: THE DAY AFTER

  1. Waking up the next morning I would have realized how the island is changing everyone into savage animals. Of course, I would be very remorseful of the actions of the previous night. I would do everything in my power to then get off the island and be rescued. By the night of the killing of Simon everyone has become mostly if not completely savage. As a boy on the island I would voice what I did was wrong and hope that by pointing out and admitting what was done was wrong that the others boys on the island would be aware of the circumstances too.

    ***

    Mr. Long: I’ll give you credit this time (because this is new having certain entries you can’t do)…but it clearly states at the beginning of the post that this is only for Periods 4 & 7. Please make sure that you notice this for all future entries you consider doing since I won’t be able to give you credit in the future for entries that are not for your period. Thanks for your understanding!

  2. If I was one of the boys that participated in the murder I was be so scared of what we had become. I would not only be scared of the other boys on the island but of myself. If we had done that, what else were we capable of?
    I would hope that I would act like Ralph but in that situation it is more likely that I would react like Piggy did. I would be so shocked with myself that I would need some way to justify the horrible ‘crime’ (in parenthesis because there needs to be law for crime) I had just committed. Taking blame for
    Simon’s murder would make it all to real.

    ***

    Mr. Long: I’ll give you credit this time (because this is new having certain entries you can’t do)…but it clearly states at the beginning of the post that this is only for Periods 4 & 7. Please make sure that you notice this for all future entries you consider doing since I won’t be able to give you credit in the future for entries that are not for your period. Thanks for your understanding!

  3. The morning after I probably wouldn’t say much, I would just walk through the motions of a normal day. I really wouldn’t talk unless I had to because I’d be trying to figure things out in my head. I would need to figure out how I felt about it and if there was a choice, what I was going to do about it. I wouldn’t really say anything or make any excuses to anybody, but in my head I would be thinking along the lines of both how Piggy was thinking, how Ralph was thinking, and some other points of view like maybe try to blame it on Jack or one of the other boys. It would appear as if I wouldn’t have noticed anything had happened and somebody might think there’s something wrong with that. However I don’t care what anybody thinks until I make what happened alright with myself so everything could get back to normal again. I wouldn’t be arguing my point out loud because I wouldn’t even know what it is yet. In the end I would probably blame it on someone or something else, decide it’s not worth beating myself up over, and after the initial shock, get back to regular life.

    ***

    Mr. Long: A very thoughtful/honest reply overall. Appreciated this point in particular: “I don’t care what anybody thinks until I make what happened alright with myself so everything could get back to normal again.”

  4. I didn’t read Ch.10 yet. If I was one of the kids on the island, other day when I realize that Simon was disappear, I will think that was very weird and try to ask other people, or found out by myself(if I am older). If I was the littlun I probably will still afraid at the beast and not go into the forest, but if I am older I maybe will go look for him. When I found out that Simon was dead I will be so sad, because he is part of us and he didn’t do anything wrong on the island. He just got kill by us only because that we think he is the beast.

    ***

    Mr. Long: I appreciate the way you phrased the 2nd part of this line: “…Simon was dead I will be so sad, because he is part of us and he didn’t do anything wrong on the island.”

  5. I would have to say that I would be more like Ralph. The one who would gasp then say to my self OMG what have I just done. To be like piggy is just passing the guilt off to someone else, in this case, a dead kid. That just seems wrong to blame a victim of a savage mutilation because no matter what they couldn’t have really caused it, they might have said some things or built up some things but never would they deserve a death like that. For a person to believe that they a perfectly or even partially innocent after taking part in a crime like this is just stupid, so being like Ralph seems to be the more logical and realistic answer.

    ***

    Mr. Long: Agree w/ you re: the “passing the guilt off” comment. Also re: the “innocent” comment at the end.

  6. I would take immediate resposiblitly for my actions. However, I would have no idea what I would do to myself. Commiting murder would ruin how I would look or ever think about myself again. I would probably isolate myself from the rest of the group seeing as how they also participated in this crime. I would be in fear of my own life and try to stay clear of them.

    ***

    Mr. Long: Intriguing tension you describe re: taking responsibility while not knowing what type of punishment you’d offer yourself.

  7. I would have to take responsibility for my actions. My conscience would bother me to much if I had ripped a boy into peices with my bare hands. I also think they knew it was Simon because he came into the circle trying to reveal the secret of the beast. Jack doesnt want the other boys to know that there is not a beast because he would lose power. When Simon appearead out of the jungle they were doing a tribal dance which obvioulsy had their adreline pumping. After all this happened I would try my best to cut off all contact with Jack and his ‘savages’. Ralph and Piggy seem to be more wise and have yet to turn into ‘savages’.

    ***

    Mr. Long: Ironic re: your point about Simon coming to tell them about the secret and the guilt you’d feel after figuring out what happened. Agree with you! Also intrigued by the idea of cutting ties with Jack, etc.

  8. If I were a boy waking up on the island the next day, I would probably stay with Jacks group. The only reason I would have stayed with him would be self preservation. I would not want to go against Jacks ways because he might try to kill me when he found out. I would probably feel real sick about what happened and would try to be a main person in the next horrible event. Even though everyone thought he was the beast if we found out it would be terrible. I would most likely feel like Ralph however I would keep it to myself so that I would still live and stuff.

    ***

    Mr. Long: I’ll give you credit this time (because this is new having certain entries you can’t do)…but it clearly states at the beginning of the post that this is only for Periods 4 & 7. Please make sure that you notice this for all future entries you consider doing since I won’t be able to give you credit in the future for entries that are not for your period. Thanks for your understanding!

  9. I would probably acted a bit like Ralph and a bit like Piggy. At first I would think about the murder and take responsibility, like Ralph, but only to myself. I would eventually find an excuse or two why it wasn’t my own fault. I would probably blame someone else, just like Piggy, but not the victim himself. I would blame the other boys in Jack’s tribe instead of Simon.

    ***

    Mr. Long: I’ll give you credit this time (because this is new having certain entries you can’t do)…but it clearly states at the beginning of the post that this is only for Periods 4 & 7. Please make sure that you notice this for all future entries you consider doing since I won’t be able to give you credit in the future for entries that are not for your period. Thanks for your understanding!

  10. I know that personally if I was ever in that situation, the next day I would be inside my own head at first. What I mean by that, is I know I wouldn’t be able to immdiately vocalize what had happened the night before. I would almost be afraid to face other people. I would be terrified of what they would think of me and I would feel like everyone was judging me. Really, I would just be haunted by my own guilt. Deep down I would know that what I did was wrong, but like in so many instances on the island, if I actually said it out loud I would have to fully acknowledge it. So I guess in that sense I would be more like Ralph. I also know I would probably find some way to try and make excuses for myself, but I know that the memory of what had happened the night before would eat away at me.

    ***

    Mr. Long: I’ll give you credit this time (because this is new having certain entries you can’t do)…but it clearly states at the beginning of the post that this is only for Periods 4 & 7. Please make sure that you notice this for all future entries you consider doing since I won’t be able to give you credit in the future for entries that are not for your period. Thanks for your understanding!

  11. In the morning after that chaos, I would just snapped and said it’s all wrong. I’ll probably just sit inside and think of what’s happening and try to tell everyone, regardless of what may happen. I’ll most likely act like Ralph and just live with the guilt inside knowing I killed someone. Then I might start a rebellion against Jack knowing that he’s a psychologically unstable child that’s power hungry.

    ***

    Mr. Long: Seems like you’ve mentioned about 3 or 4 different reactions that all go in different directions. Which one — knowing you — would you be most likely to do?

    BTW, I like the last idea…but wonder if you’d be more aware of Jack than all the other boys (without reading the book, of course) and be able to see what Jack really was? Proof? (smile)

  12. I would like to think that I would try to except it and move on. This is a difficult question to answer because you can not predict your reaction. The psycological effect you would endure is hard to replicate. I would, however, at least try to remain level-headed. I tend to be good at this and I think it would be necessary to move on and find a solution.

    ***

    Mr. Long: Ah, a wise soul takes on the heart of the matter. Nice work. (smile)

  13. If I was one of the boys I would be scared. I’d probably wake up and say, “man was that a dream?” I would be like Ralph asking the other boys what happened. When they tell me what happened I will feel so guilty. I would try to be like Piggy and keep telling myself that it was an accident, but in the end I will feel guilty and sorry for Simon. I’ll try to get on with my life but that memory of Simon will haunt me. I will tell myself, “I need to get off this island” because once I do I hope all those memories stay buried in the island.

    ***

    Mr. Long: Appreciate you admitting both fear and guilt. Makes you pretty human, in my estimate.

  14. The next morning i would just get up and try to go through the day just like it never happened. I would have to think about it a long time, because, like Ralph said, “…it was murder.” If someone confronted me and asked me about last night, i would probably react like Ralph. At first i wuold just face the truth, but then i would probably say that i wasn’t even in the circle, just like Piggy did.I think that everybody would have almost the same reaction. Nobody would want to be called a “killer”.

  15. I think waking up the next morning i’d be pretty confused and curious. I’d probably wonder back to the sight to see “the beast” for myself and find a truth in all the outragousness. When i notice that its simon id probably wrestle with myself about telling someone, but like the others i wouldnt mention it to jack out of fear of being isolated or worse. I might have gone to ralph or maybe evn piggy for advise. But i dont think it could have gone better than that. Oh, and id be pretty disappointed in myself if i had any participation in that horrible dance of death. And id probably want to be like ralph and want to figure things out about the future.

  16. I would be like Piggy, because in the real world I am going to get in a big trouble for it. But in my mind, I will try to tell me that I’m not involved in that murder. I will be scared and need somebody to protect me. The island is changing right now, people become more savagely. They already killed one of it, no one know whose going be the next person. This also makes a great opportunity to Jack to gain more control than Ralph.

  17. Killing someone ruthlessly like that would definitely affect me a lot. The next morning, I would probably act more like Ralph by blaming myself. I would start asking myself, “What was your problem? Why weren’t you thinking? I should’ve blah blah blah blah…” I know I did it, but I don’t want to know I did it, if that makes sense. Piggy making up excuses might help my conscience a little and may slowly start to make me feel better. I would also slowly start making up excuses; slowly because I know that the event can’t be changed, but also because anything would make me feel better. I would start saying that I ‘didn’t actually do anything’ and that I ‘was on the outside of the circle.’ Inside my head though, I would still be scarred by the unfortunate event and knowing that nothing will change it would be hard for me to get it over with. If only they could invent a time machine…

    ***

    Mr. Long: I’ll give you credit this time (because this is new having certain entries you can’t do)…but it clearly states at the beginning of the post that this is only for Periods 4 & 7. Please make sure that you notice this for all future entries you consider doing since I won’t be able to give you credit in the future for entries that are not for your period. Thanks for your understanding!

  18. Waking up the next morning I would be shocked by the actions that happened the night before. I would talk it out as Ralph was trying to do. I would be more like Ralph and say it was a murder because thats what it was and theres no way around doing what you did. I wouldnt really find excuses but when your in that situation of a group of people just commited a murder so many things are going through your head and your scared of what to do and think. Piggy was doing the right thing to calm Ralph down though because in that type of situation ur mind doesnt know what to think and when someone is there for you like Piggy you want to accept what he says because thats what you think is right.

  19. I would have reacted more like Ralph. Simon had nothing to do with his own death, and even though I was under a lot of pressure it would not be right to blame the victim for his own death. Stranded on an island like this, you cannot let things get to you, so I would have probably convinced myself that I did nothing wrong. Also, I would not talk about it with anyone but Piggy. I would have acted just as Ralph did, admitting to the murder, finding excuses, and never bring it up again.

  20. The morning after my immediate reaction would be thinking it was a dream. I would never think something so wild happened; I would sit there and convince myself that it was a nightmare. I would then take Ralph’s path knowing what I did was wrong. Piggy’s influence over me would be necessary in me getting over the fact that I killed someone. I myself would question this whole situation in the first place making in easy for me to believe Piggy. I would be so convinced by him I wouldn’t want to believe anything else…. who wants to believe they are a murderer? Following Piggy’s words would be a way of escaping the truth and denying whatever happened. It would soothe your guilt and calm your nerves.

  21. The next morning I would try to forget what happened the night before so that I could focus on surviving. If I let guilt take over it would get in the way. I would be like Piggy because he is doing what he should do in keeping Ralph up and focused. Ralph is their only hope of being rescued so he needs to keep his “A” game going and not let this tragedy ruin the rest of them. If they are ever rescued then each of them will have to deal individually with what they have done.

Leave a Reply

