W10, #9: VISUAL VOCAB STORY

Who: All periods

Directions:

  • Use any of the 10 words from the 2 lists found below
  • Include a) definition and b) part of speech — place both in parenthesis

Length: Varies

November

  • aggregate – to gather; accumulate
  • astute – clever; perceptive
  • bombastic – using inflated language
  • craven – cowardly
  • diffidence – shyness
  • equivocal – ambiguous
  • fastidious – hard to please
  • gouge – to overcharge
  • immutable – unchangeable
  • quiescent – dormant; at rest; temporarily inactiv

November 1

  • autonomous – self-governing; independent
  • brevity – shortness in length or time
  • candor – honesty
  • depravity- corruption
  • discordant – not harmonious; conflicting
  • enervate – to weaken
  • extricate – to release with difficulty
  • gravity- seriousness
  • mendacious – habitually dishonest
  • pristine – unspoiled

Image #1: http://tinyurl.com/63n5n7

comeflywithme

Image #2: http://tinyurl.com/694qe8

excited

Image #3: http://tinyurl.com/6otwpf

sweethearts

21 responses to “W10, #9: VISUAL VOCAB STORY

  1. A Small Town Hero

    Everyone was aggregated (v), or gathered near the community pool in the small town of Sweet Springs, Texas. Why you might ask? Well, to watch the man simply known as Tom; attempt the daring, no heroic feat of the high dive. The audience was full of gravity, (n) or seriousness as their hero walked up the thirteen and a half steps to the three meter platform. They stared upon Tom with a look of utmost respect that seemed to be screaming they knew this was no craven (adj) or cowardly man.
    Tom reached the top and edged his way to the end of the diving platform. He knew if he were to dive it would have an immutable (adj) or unchangeable effect on his life. He also knew that his audience was not a fastidious (adj) or hard to please group and that they would not look down upon him if he simply backed away from this seemingly impossible challenge.
    He looked over the black water that was the diving well, miles away from where he stood. And yet if he were to jump it would take only a brevity (n) or shortness of time before the deep water consumed him. Looking at his fate he was suddenly enveloped with a diffidence (n) or shyness.
    Tom slowly backed away from the edge a move that enervated (v) or weakened him in the eyes of his loyal fans but still their look of respect could not be diminished.
    Then the miracles of all miracles occurred. With an autonomous (adj) or independent lunge Tom cleared the edge of the platform and was on his way to history! His fall was quite discordant (adj) or not harmonious if I do say so myself but the accomplishment that happened today will never be matched! It was one small step for Tom one giant leap for Tomkind!

    ***

    Mr. Long: How can someone not adore that last line?

  2. Her diffidence(adj.) or shyness, brightened her face and showed in every move she made. She was ready to be married, she loved that man too much not to. But her nerves swarmed around her like angry bees and became very discordant(adj.) and conflicting. She laid down across her bed and tried to calm down by taking slow relaxed breathes. Her bridesmades came in and started to aggregate (v.) and gather around er in concern. THey asked her if she was going to hae to postpone and go to the hospital. But she wouldnt let that happen. Her best friend told her to side against being craven (adj.) and cowardly, to be brave and keep her head up. Knowing that her friend was fastidious (adj.) and hard to please, she said nothing else. Until she got an idea. She thought of when they were little, and how her mom was so autonomous (adj.), independent and always busy. And whenever they were alone at home, they would sneak in her room, and play with her things, leaving things quite the opposite of pristine (adj.), unspoiled. She told her best friend about these memories, but instanly regreted it. Just about 5 years ago she had to extricate (v.), or to release with difficulty, the loss of her mother. There was a brief moment of harsh gravity (adj.), seriousness in the room.
    But it left as quick as it came. Then the bride had an astute (adj.), clever idea. She smiled at all her friends around her, turned, and hopped onto the bed and started jumping up and down. And soon all of her friends had joined her. Maybe today wouldn’t be so bad after all…

  3. Rachel was sitting in her bed in her wedding dress, bored. She didn’t know what to do until an astute (adj.; clever; perceptive) idea came to her head. She called her bridesmaids Hilary, Irene, and Ann. She asked them to aggregate(v; to gather; accumulate) in her room without any diffidence ( adj.; shyness). They came and were wondering what to do. It started out as a gossip room at first like “oh my god those shoes”. Then it turned into a Pillow Fight! There was no gravity (adj; seriousness). It was awesome. Then the wine came in, and everybody had so many candor (adj.- honesty) things to say. What used to be extricate (adj.- to release with difficulty) was now being talked about bombasticly (adv.- using inflated language). A lot of discordant (adj.- not harmonious; conflicting) stuff, but they didn’t care. Then the door opened and what do you know its the groom. The party was quiescent (adj.- dormant; at rest; temporarily inactive) for a while, but the party was pristine (adj.- unspoiled) by it. Wow I’m so lucky I was the groom. Man did we have a party, me and the four girls, all night.

  4. Image #3

    Sally and Norm couldn’t stop laughing about it. Those teenagers thought they were astute (adj. perceptive) observers of human behavior! When they saw Sally and Norm being so old and diffident (adj. shy), they must have thought Sally and Norm were not so smart as well. It was at the coffee shop, where the teens worked and where locals aggregated (v. to gather). Normally, Sally and Norm stayed near the pristine (adj. unspoiled) beaches rather than the downtown coffee shop, so the teens had not seen them before. But today, Sally was fastidious (adj. hard to please) and insisted on a specific green tea. When the teenagers saw the old couple, they decided to gouge (v. overcharge) them for fun. They served the tea and brought a bill for twice the price of the tea. They were not mendacious (adj. habitually dishonest), but they thought it was fun to do that sort of a thing every once a while. They did not know that Sally and Norm were the actual owners of the shop, which was ran rather autonomously (adv. self-governing) by the manager. When Sally and Norm called out their depravity (n. corruption) in an unequivocal (adj. not ambiguous) manner, the teens could not extricate (v. to release with difficulty) themselves from trouble. The teens apologized profusely, but the manager was immutable (adj. unchangeable) and fired the teens on the spot.

  5. I was very fastidious(hard to please)(adj) that day. I had nothing to do. I was filled with gravity(seriousness)(n); I didn’t talk to anyone the entire day. My mom tried to enervate(to weaken)(v) my quiescent(dormant)(adj)situation. She said we could go to Six Flags or some other place and I suddenly got excited. I was always a pristine(unspoiled)(adj) boy; my mom never gave me a lot of things, but she did give me some. After we prepared to start our seemingly immutable(unchangeable)(adj) plan, my mom realized we could not go because she had to pick up my sister from her friend’s house. My mom, always having candor(honesty)(n), said I could go somewhere while she went to go pick my sister up. I decided to go to the public pool. I aggregated(to gather)(v) my stuff in a bag and left for the pool. My mom dropped me off and told me no to have diffidence(shyness). I went to the pool and started swimming. I then saw a alot of people waiting in line to jump of the high diving board. Iwalked toward the line, very craven(cowardly)(adv). I was shivering a lot because it was so cold getting out of the pool, making me seem scared. I wasn’t; I loved the high dividing board. When I got on top, I ran and jumped as high as I could. I flew for an instant and began falling down. It was extremely exhilarating. However, when I hit the water, it hurt. I went on again many more times…..

  6. This guy tries to jump into the pool, this time all creatures are stop. The quiescent (adj.) time let him think what he going to happen next second. He aggregate (v.) everybody’s vision. This bombastic (adj.) action was very dangerous, I only can use “Death or Alive” to describe it. His gravity (adj.) expression make him has a lot of confidence. But those brevity (adj.) confidence start change to his craven (adj.) feeling. He starts afraid what happened if he missed. The fears start let him depravity (v.), enervate (v.) his confidence. Now the only thing he can do is to extricate (adj.) the fear and reduce his courage, find back those immutable (adj.) confidences, till after the jump and forever.

  7. “Dad, I don’t want to.”
    “Come on, son. It’s not scary. Just do it.”

    How I remember those words. When I was six, I was afraid of the diving board. So, naturally, I was pushed to get on the diving board every single time we went to the pool. This ritual of my family was immutable(adj)(unchangeable). Go to the pool, swim around, make fun of him for not going on the high board. I wasn’t craven(adj)(cowardly) necessarily, I was just unsure of what it would be like. I didn’t like new circumstances, wouldn’t it be fine if everything stayed the same? That’s what I thought, which is why I never wanted to go up those 5 steps to the high board, it wasn‘t fear. However, my dad was fastidious (adj)(hard to please). He would give me so much trouble for not even trying to jump. He would say, “Come one, son, stop being a wuss”. I still wouldn’t dive. There was a diffidence(n)(shyness) about me that wouldn’t let me try new things or take a risk. What if I messed up? Everyone would laugh at me. I was perfectly fine with not diving, but I couldn’t stand the arguing that would ensue when my dad’s opinion and mine would clash and be discordant(adj)(conflicting). This disharmony was what finally made me dive.

    When we were at the pool the next day, I went up to my dad and said in the least bombastic (adj)(using inflated language) way possible that I was going to dive. Excited, my dad followed me up the steps to urge me on. At the end of the board I paused. I could feel the grainy texture of the board beneath my toes and I took a deep breath as I tried to aggregate (v)(gather) my will power for the jump. The gravity (adj)(seriousness) of the situation seemed to slow down time as I huddled on the end of the board. Behind me, I heard the “Come on, son. Just do it”. Those words pushed me to take a tentative bounce on the board, I closed my eyes and stepped off.

    The brevity (adj)(shortness in time) of the fall surprised me, I had been so worked up for this? I hit the water an instant after I stepped off the board and was engulfed by the water. I floated up to the top of the water and opened my eyes to see my dad’s smiling face. I could hear the candor(n)(honesty) in his words as he said, “Well done, son, well done”.

  8. An interesting thought
    of living your life
    from old to young,
    understanding facts,
    knowing life lessons,
    with the experience
    of living
    with only one year.
    Beginning life autonomously,
    complete with freedom;
    yet complete with responsibility.
    The astute mind
    would know delicate secrets
    and facts about life,
    not having to learn them,
    not causing useless strife.
    What if everyday though,
    we weaken.
    We begin to enervate
    and slowly start to loose
    our brilliance,
    our knowledge,
    our adult ways of life.
    Each day,
    gaining pure candor,
    learning how to believe,
    how to trust.
    While the human existence
    is alone immutable,
    how we exist
    can certainly change.

    What if our fastidious
    attitudes were let loose;
    with the spirit of youth
    comes joy and sheer happiness.
    How discordant
    and out of hand
    it would be
    to learn what is true
    and what is false
    in the opposite
    manor.

    Discovering life,
    before discovering fantasy.
    The bombastic language
    which we once knew
    starts to fade,
    speaking now
    in short phrases,
    but are all important
    to us.
    What would we extricate?
    Money, clothes, appearance,
    knowledge.
    But somehow younger minds
    can see so much.
    This topic
    has much gravity.
    Living life old to young
    seems to be out of place.
    Let us only imagine
    what if;
    learn from this thought.

    autonomously-(adverb) independently
    astute-(adj) clever
    enervate-(verb) to weaken
    candor-(noun) honesty
    immutable-(adj) cannot change
    fastidious-(adj) hard to please
    discordant-(adj) not harmonious
    bombastic-(adj) high sounding language
    extricate-(verb) to release with difficulty
    gravity-(noun) seriousness, importance

  9. Everybody hear that there is something grandiloquent (adj) going happen today. Eric disseminates (verb) this new to everybody. He said he is going to jump over the pool in the town. He wants to extricate (verb) his home town, more people equal more money. This is a brevity (noun) moment, but he will be in a history. Somebody may not believe that he did that in the future, because they think the picture is ambiguous (adj). He talked with unusual candor (noun), he just try to help out his home town. His town is a pristine (adj) town. People are too morose (adj) over here. They need facetious (adj) stuff, and people really need some fun over here.

  10. number two : )

    The women had a lack of gravity (seriousness, noun) the night before her wedding. They were enervated (weakened, verb) from jumping up and down on the bed. The bride aggregated (v, gathered) all of her closest friends and enjoyed her last night without a husband. She knew that tomorrow she would have to use bombastic (adj, high sounding language) and agree to marry the man of her dreams. She also knew that in order to extricate (v, release with difficulty) her freedom, she would have to go through alot and it would most definitely not be the easiest thing, but she was excited. Thankfully her soon to be husband was not at all fastidious (adj, hard to please), nor was he a craven (n, coward) towards her or her friends. She kept thinking about how she would no longer be autonomous (adj, independent), but would instead be married. This was, in her opinion, an immutable (adj, unchangeable) act. Hours later, she had a quiescent (dormant, adj) mind as she slept, exhausted from her girls night.

  11. His son didn’t want to go to his swimming lesson. They had taken the 35 minute drive all the way to dang gouging(adj) Penny’s Swim School and the 6-year old was afraid of the water. He will be getting into this water for $50 dollars a lesson. Truth be told, Carl was afraid of water too. He had been ridiculed as a child, “Oh, look it’s Craven(adj) Carl”. He wasn’t (cowardly) he just didn’t particularly like the feeling of being trapped in a watery pool of death. However, he was determined for his son not to suffer the same fate as him.

    Little Timmy was staring at the water, testing its temperature with his foot. He had established that he wouldn’t be entering the pool with brevity(noun). The very first thing he told his father was, “I’m not going in the pool, Dad.”, (wasting no time). Carl was going to try to convince Timmy that the water wasn’t that bad, but he could tell by the gravity(noun) in his face that it wouldn’t work. Timothy had a look of hardened (seriousness) that clearly showed his distaste for pools.

    Carl wasn’t a (dishonest) man and told his son that he was afraid of water too, and tried to convince him that he shouldn’t be hindered by his fears. In this case, mendaciousness(noun) probably would have helped him. Timothy (cleverly) reminded Carl that he was making no attempt to enter the water either. He was a pretty astute(adj) 6-year old. Carl’s quiescent(adj) mind couldn’t think of a come back to that, the section of his brain that had a somewhat good idea was (temporarily inactive). He had to get this autonomous(adj) into the water. He couldn’t go on into (independence), not in first grade.

    Carl offered numerous bribes in exchange for his participation in the swimming class. Timmy refused every single one and was extremely (hard to please). Evidently he was fastidious(adj) too. Carl hated himself for his candor(noun). Why couldn’t he have just lied and said he loved water? That would be wrong and would go against his teachings about (honesty). Carl finally offered to get in the water as well and Timothy was elated. That was what he wanted all along, for his father to face his fears as well.

  12. #1

    Bob the diver was an (autonomous)(adj) man who did whatever he wanted in a fun way with great lack of (gravity)(n). Although he constantly exercised free spirit he was by no means harmful to anyone else and he was free of (depravity)(n) and all that was evil. He believed in (candor)(n), never known to be (mendacious)(adj) because he always wanted people to know the truth. Truth is (immutable)(adj) and all though it can be bent, its properties always remains the same. Bob also believed in living life to its fullest. He was not (diffidence)(adj) towards anyone and was always meeting new people and sharing stories with them. He was not a (fastidious)(adj) person and he enjoyed the multitude of small things, such as a story, that he (aggregated)(v) together to stimulate his happiness that the world had to offer. If there is anything to learn from Bob, it is to not be (craven)(adj) towards the world but to stand up to it and enjoy it and help others enjoy it.

  13. This morning when I had woken up I knew what I had to do. Today was the day for the big jump. Every morning I go to the county club pool and I become craven (adj, cowardly) when I see the diving board up high in the air. But this morning I have aggregated (verb, gathered) courage for the big jump. The diffidence (noun, shyness) of this jump is because when I was little I was a diver, and on one a occasion I hit the bottom of the pool and partial cracked my skull. But that was many years ago and that memory is immutable (adj, unchangeable). Last night I gouged (verb, overcharged) my energy by getting twelve hours of sleep. I feel confident and astute (adj, perceptive) about this conquerable jump today. There’s only one way to please this fastidious (adj, hard to please) desire for diving, and that’s by jumping today

  14. A craven(adj)(cowardly) young child was jumping on a trampoline. Then a spring popped and shot through a window. His father came out and asked his son what happened. The son realized that the gravity(adj)(seriousness) of the situation and just sky rocketed. So forgetting that candor(adj)(honesty) was the best policy, the mendacious(adj)(habitually dishonest) boy said that his sister through a rock at the window. The father just laughed when he looked over and saw that his daughter was quiescent(adj)(dormant) on the bench. Then the father turned back to the boy who was just standing there on the trampoline, then the father noticed that a spring was missing. After aggregating(adj)(accumulating) all the facts he told the autonomous(adj)(independent) boy that he should stop trying to use any depravity(adv)(corruption) that he might have against his sister. This boy realizing that his father wanted him to remain pristine(adj)(unspoiled) said that he was jumping and then the spring went through the window. Then the fathers immutable(adj)(unchangeable) position against the boy changed so it really wasn’t immutable just seemed to be.

  15. Natasha sat on the side of the bed in the beautiful hotel room. She was all alone and remained quiescent (adj, dormant); she had a sense of diffidence (n, shyness) about her. Natasha was getting married in less than one hour, but she began to have second thoughts. After all, she thought, she was only 24. She thought about how the night before her three bridesmaids and she were jumping on the bed. They were so carefree and joyous. Natasha suddenly heard a loud knock on the door. Her mother came in and sat next to Natasha. Sheila, Natasha’s mother, was an astute (adj, clever) woman who always had an immutable (adj, unchangeable) personality. Once she set her heart on something, there was no changing her mind. A brevity (n, shortness in length or time) of time passed before Sheila spoke to her nervous daughter. A sense of gravity (n, seriousness) entered the room. Her bombastic (adj, using inflating language) tone was off-putting towards Natasha. Sheila tried talking to her daughter about marriage. Natasha had discordant (adj, conflicting) views with her mother about being married though. Sheila had been divorced three times, and Natasha didn’t want that. She wanted to be happy with one person for the rest of her life. So, Natasha felt that the only way to carry that out was to not get married after all. But all Sheila wanted was to see her daughter happy. So, she aggregated (v, gathered) herself together and spoke with candor (n, honesty). She told Natasha that she thought she should get married. The talk they had was inspiring to Natasha and she finally felt ready to go downstairs to her wedding. So Natasha and her mother left the room and went downstairs to the grand chapel. Standing in front of the double doors to her wedding, Natasha took a deep breath. She was ready she thought, finally ready.

  16. “Scaredy-cat.”

    Logan timidly looked up at the 3-meter high dive. His friend Reese shook his head in sarcastic frustration.

    “Honesty, Logan, how long are you going to keep this up? You’re sixteen years old, man. You can’t live in fear of heights forever. It’s pretty pathetic, to be honest.”

    Logan ignored him. Reese had always been a user of bombastic (inflated sounding language, adj) language and had always teased (or was ‘made fun of’ a better way to describe it?) him about his acrophobia.

    Acrophobia. It was such a nasty word. Logan hated being labeled as a sissy, but most people had already slapped that sticker on him anyway. It had all started on that one day his gym class went on a rock climbing trip. He had insisted he couldn’t go, faked an illness, and even forged a parental excuse note — but it was all in vain. His mom had insisted on him conquering his ‘fear’ (she thought that ‘phobia’ wasn’t the correct term and only thought of it as something childish, it was quite a pain). He was forced to go on the trip and to climb the wall. It ended in disaster — Logan had broken down in front of everyone. The guys at the rock climbing facility had ended up escorting him outside and the bus driver drove him back to the school. Imaginably, Logan had been the laughingstock of everyone the next day. He was used to it now, though, the constant whispering and snickers that went on in the hall, and the continuing conversations of “It’s that kid, the one who cried at the rock climbing trip last year.”

    Logan had never been the go-getter type of person. His acrophobia had only made it worse, and now he was a craven (cowardly, adj), quiet boy. His most noticable trait was the diffidence (shyness, n) he held in his eyes; he never made eye contact with anyone for more than a couple of seconds. His mom and Reese always told him to “conquer his fear”. Like that would do any good! They couldn’t ever understand. This fear wasn’t anything mutable (changeable, adj)… it would always be a part of him. It defined him now. That was what was most frustrating.

    A quick slug to his shoulder broke him out of his trance. It was Reese again. How annoying.

    “Go UP there. CLIMB the ladder!” Reese yelled. He started pushing Logan from behind towards the blue rungs.

    “Stop it. I don’t want to go on the high dive.” Logan tried to sound confident, but by the end of the sentence all had been lost and he ended with a timid tone. He winced at his stupidity, for he knew Reese was going to comment on it again.

    “Dude, you’re so shy now ‘cuz of what happened last year. If you just DO IT then you’ll conquer your fear, right? You won’t be a scared sissy anymore. I want the old Logan back. You’re so boring sometimes.” See? Reese wasn’t hard to figure out.

    Logan wasn’t going to change his mind about the high dive. He definitely would not, should not, could not listen to Reese. He wouldn’t do it. It was as unequivocal (final, unambiguous, adj) as that.

    “I’m not doing it Reese. Stop.”

    Reese rolled his eyes again. Apparently, “no” wouldn’t be enough to please the fastidious (hard to please, adj) Reese.

    “Come on. It won’t be that bad. Just go up there at least… if it’s too bad then just back down from it. If you just go up there I’ll leave you alone about this whole ‘acrophobia,’ ” his fingers drew quotations in the air as he sighed on the word, “deal for good. Okay?”

    The prospect of getting Reese off his back forever was extremely appealing to Logan. More appealing than he would have liked. It would be great for things to go back to how they were before… when Reese hadn’t known about his fear. Stupid acrophobia ruined everything.

    “Fine.” Logan surprised himself with this answer. “You know you’re going to just back down anyway. What’s the point? You’re just going to humiliate yourself in front of all these people,” he scolded himself internally. Whatever. He would at least get Reese out of his hair about this ordeal.

    Logan looked up at the ladder silently. Aggregating (gathering, v) his courage, Logan slowly put his hand on the first step he could reach and hefted himself up. He didn’t dare look down. “All I have to do is stand on the platform… I can back down once I get up there,” he told himself. Yeah. It’d be okay.

    The edge of the platform was coming closer and closer. Anxious and afraid, Logan made the mistake of looking down. The ground was far away… so far away. His knees slacked as he felt the height enervate (weaken, v) his body. His pulse quickened. I have to get down from here. I have to get away! But his body wouldn’t move. He was frozen. His heart was pounding so loudly that he could feel each beat shake his body. Logan was only one rung away from the top of the platform. He closed his eyes. Slowly, cautiously, he inched his fingers towards it and dragged himself across the top like an old haggard.

    “Yeah! See, it’s not that bad!” He heard Reese call out. But the voice was so far away… so far… and now that Logan was on the top of the platform, he didn’t know how he was going to get down. He had to look at the ground if he was going to do that… and… one glance at the concrete caused his insides to bubble with panic. He was trapped. Should I jump? A little voice in his head dared to ask the question. Of course not, are you a madman? Another voice slipped into his conscious and berated his previous one with sarcastic remarks. Logan sat there on the platform, his heart leaping like a crazed jumping bean, torn between the two choices. Jump. Go down. The discordance (state of conflict, n) made him even more anxious and afraid. He felt pressure build in his chest, and he knew he was going to cry in fear soon… I am such a sissy, he thought. Extricating (releasing with difficulty, v) as much fear as he could, he scooted backwards and began to descend the ladder to the safety of the ground.

    A force unknown to him took Logan over. For some reason he was calm now. Strange, he thought. He went down one more step. The descent was easy now since his heart had calmed.

    He lurched forward. Below him he could hear a string of amazed profanity escape Reese’s lips. Suddenly Logan was running, running…

    He jumped.

  17. The man jumping may be in pain if he doesn’t put his feet toghether fast. I wonder if there was a crowd aggregating (v. gathering) waiting to watch his fall. Maybe the crowd is fastidious (adj. hard to please) and he has tried several jumps trying to impress them. At this point he hasn’t had a chance yet to be quiescent (adj. dormant) because he is trying so hard. He doesn’t appear to have much diffidence (n. shyness) since he is trying to show off. He doesn’t seem to be craven (adj. cowardly) either because this particular jump may hurt. Hopefully the brevity (n. shortness in time) of his pain will make things better for him. The water looks so pristine (adj. unspoiled) but it will soon not be because of the waves the man is about to make. If his behavior is immutable (adj. unchangeable) and he continues with the constant jumping then his body may begin to enervate (v. to weaken). He could get so tired that he would no longer be able to swim and might drown which would be a situation of extreme gravity (n. seriousness).

  18. I didn’t feel craven(adv) as I aggregated(verb) my strength to leap into the water at the hotel pool. It was nice but the price was gouged(verb), but I astutly(adv) was equivocal(adj) and bombastic(adj) and I saved a lot of money. The cashier’s diffidence(adj) kept his confusion quiescent(adj) and kept the price immutable(adj). I was fastidious(adj) during the trip, in total candor(adj).

  19. On a hammoc sits a young couple. they have been gouged [(noun)to overcharge] of their years and the weight of the world has enervated [(verb) to weaken] their bones. But this is a young couple at heart, filled with love, candor [(noun) honesty] and compation. If it were up to them they would never age but it is imutable [(adj) cannot change] so they will live in love as long as the lord will it be 4. Often one of them will rimmanice about when they first met. He was filled with a craven (adj. cowardly) diffidence (adj. shyness). His friend kept teasing him calling him wimp and coward. So finnaly he reluctantly extricated ((verb) to release with difficulty) from the spot in wich he was standing to the spot next to the young lady. Then he discordantly ((adj) not harmonious) said “ummm hi” bombasticly ((adj) high sounding language). This boy had no clue that this conversation that he was plafully pressured into would become gravity [(noun) seriousness, importance]

  20. He was a serious and an astute (adj clever, perceptive) man. At work, he was fastidious (adj hard to please) and held high demands for himself and co-workers. This quality propelled him to the top of the company quickly despite his young age of 26. While he aggregated (v accumulated) a large salary, he had not done the same with friends outside his college buddies. He was a good-looking man with a tall stature and was approached often. However, nothing came of these interactions due to their brevity (n shortness in length or time). He always appeared to be uninterested which turned people off. While he was not overcome diffidence (n shyness), his desire for success and autonomy made him hard to get to know. He worried his current ‘workaholic’ personality may become immutable (adj unchangeable).

    His superior informed him that he needed to use his vacation days or they would expire. He grudgingly booked a flight to Santorini. When he arrived, he was overcome with a sense of relief, something he hadn’t felt in the 3 years he climbed the career ladder. The resort recommended by his ex-girlfriend exceeded his expectations amazingly; he had expected a low-rate hotel from how their relationship ended (his workaholic behavior again). After he unloaded his stuff in his room, he decided to roam around. The scenery was beautiful and he thought things couldn’t get any better, until he saw it. The pool was gorgeous. He hadnt gone swimming, besides his 75 lanes in the morning, in so long. His longing to be in the fresh water and his usual public composure were discordant (adj conflicting). After a few minutes of scanning the fellow vacationers at the pool, he decided he was only here for two weeks and would likely never see these people again. So he extricated (v release with difficulty) his doubt and decided to go for it. So with his new found freedom, he let go of gravity (n seriousness) and jumped in.

  21. pic. #1
    The Ability to Fly and Be Free

    For him, the ability to fly in the air must be the greatest gift that anyone he can ever have. His greatest wish is to fly, to soar like an eagle, to be attached free of everything. He wants to feel the sensation of freedom and to have a feeling of superpower. A leap to boundless freedom will be a time when he is free of worries and everyday life. He is immutable (adj.; unchangeable) about his belief of flying. Unless it is related to being able to fly, he was fastidious (adj.; hard to please). When ever there is an opportunity that might allow him to be able to fly peacefully, he is not a craven (adj.; cowardly) fellow and would never turn it down because he was a coward. However, since many people are mendacious (adj.; habitually dishonest), he is astute (n.; clever; perceptive) enough to turn it down if it is not real and the sales people just want to get his money. When telling other people about wanting to fly, he would say this in a poetic, bombastic (adj.; using inflated language) way which tends to produce a diffidence (n.; shyness) in the person he is talking to and would try to get away from him while thinking he’s a weird, crazy, corrupted () man. Those who would respond might tell him to go on a plane and be a pilot. He had been on a plane before but to him it does not feel like flying nor could/can you feel the wind. When he tells them this, they would suggest going on a hot air balloon. He has also been on a hot air balloon before but it was not exactly his style. They might have given him some other ideas but it was not what he wanted. Jumping in the pool seamed to be the closest he could get to a leap to boundless freedom. However, the feeling of the sensation of freedom lasts only a brevity (n.; shortness in length or time) which is why he prefers jumping off the tallest thing possible even he feels like that it is still to short. Going on the bungi jump seams to last longer, he could not control where he could go and knew he was connected to something on the ground and did not fee like he was completely free. He tried sky diving but knew it was not exactly what he wanted because he could not completely control of where he was going including going up. Finally one day he was given an air glider (I do not remember exactly what it is called) and a jet pack by anonymous. He got himself some lessons and found that this is what he wanted. He now felt like he was soaring like an eagle through the pristine (adj.; unspoiled) sky and was no longer discordant (adj.; not harmonious). He can move around as he pleases and he can feel the breeze blowing across his face and can see the world around him. With a jet pack, he can go just about anywhere as well except when it is out of batteries. He also likes the feel of no gravity and swimming in water but he still loves his air glider and his jet pack.

Leave a Reply

