W11, #2: VISUAL VOCAB STORY

NOTE:

These 20 words (plus the previous 40 words from 4 lists) will be used on the Tues, Dec. 9th quiz (one week after you return from Thanksgiving break).

***

Who: All periods

Directions:

  • Use any of the 10 words from the 2 lists found below
  • Include a) definition and b) part of speech — place both in parenthesis

Length: Varies

November 17th list

  • anomalous – irregular; abnormal
  • chicanery – trickery; deception
  • conciliatory – soothing; meant to make peace
  • denigrate – to ridicule; to make fun of
  • emulate – to imitate with intent to equal or surpass
  • fatuous – brainless, inane, foolish – yet smug
  • gullible – easily deceived
  • opulence – affluence
  • ostentatious – pretentious; trying to attract attention
  • plummet – to fall sharply

December 2nd list

  • altruistic – unselfish; putting other people’s needs first
  • arduous – strenuous
  • buttress – to support; to prop up
  • commensurate – corresponding in extent or degree; proportionate
  • cursory- very quick
  • despondent- extremely discouraged
  • esoteric – hard to understand
  • euphemism – mild expression in place of an unpleasant one; less offensive words
  • insipid – lacking in flavor, dull
  • pragmatic – practical (as opposed to idealistic)

Image #1:http://tinyurl.com/67pdvp

candycornpumpkin1

Image #2: http://tinyurl.com/5ceqnr

catdinner1

Image #3: http://tinyurl.com/6n8vep

parade

5 responses to “W11, #2: VISUAL VOCAB STORY

  1. (Image # 3)
    Me and my two friends watched all of the ballons go by, and none of them caught our eye like the pokemon one. It seemed anomalous (irregular/adj) to us among the others, because it was from a cartoon definately past it’s prime. At the same time, we took turns denigrating (to riddicule/verb) the float, because none of us wanted to admit that we had watched it once. Even today, after more than half of present teens had once watched it, all of us are despondent (extremely discouraged/adj.) to reveal this fact. Nonetheless, we teens were all once gullible (easily decieved/adj) kids who were fascinated by bright colors and cute little creatures. Thus, we release it as a total denial of our previous intrest. Because the older we got, our intrest in the show plummeted (to fall sharply/verb) at a cursory (very quick/adj.) rate , so it’s just easier to forget it. This route, however, is taken by those who fear fatuous (foolish-yet smug) jocks who use anything to degrade those who try to not conform to the norms. However, those of us who are clever will use chicanery (trickery/noun) to reveal that they also once watched it. To some, this tactic may seem eoteric (difficult to understand/adj.), but once you have learned how to use it, it is a great tactic. Not wanting to reveal further former intrests that are now humiliating, the jock will have to make the arduous (strenuous/ adj.) choice to admit that they once liked it to avoid even greater humiliation. It’s an interesting phenomena, but I guess thats to be expected of a fad that refuses to die…

  2. image # 2
    It is quite anomalous (adj – irregular, abnormal) to see a cat at a dining table. But, the cat does seem to be behaving himself rather good. It is probably arduous (adj – strenuous) for the cat to resist running across the table and helping himself to the food on the table. I would be worried about him knocking over the candlesticks with a cursory (adj – very quick) jump and starting the table on fire. That would make this dinner less insipid (adj – lacking in flavor, dull) and more memorable. It would then be necessary to offer conciliatory (adj-soothing) remarks to the others at the table. They would probably still denigrate (v -make fun of) the owner of the cat. The cat would probably be called fatuous (adj-brainless, foolish). If the cat knew this he would become despondent (adj-extremely discouraged) which would not be esoteric (adj-hard to understand). No one wants to be called brainless. The cat’s feelings about himself will now plummet (v-fall sharply).

  3. I sat hiding in my litter box avoiding all of Greg’s guests. I hate when he hosts Thanksgiving dinner. He only hosted every three years and every time was the same as the previous one. When a guest, usually someone with kids, asks where “the cute little kitty” is Greg informs them of my diffidence and the adult accepts this and moves on. The child, however, does not give up as easily. The arduous (adj strenuous) child searches the entire apartment and despite my amazing hiding skills, they eventually find me. The chase is cursory (adj very quick) so the child has lost no energy. Although I hate the child, they bring me into the party and I become more comfortable. I am graciously allowing a guest to pet me and shower me with praise when my massage is rudely interrupted. I look at the newest arrival and am immediately disappointed, it is Greg’s sister Jennifer and her new baby. I appear to be the only one bothered by the presence of the baby. I do not see why everyone loves babies. I mean what kind of insipid (adj dull) creature has to whine to get attention? They drool, cry, and take attention away from me. As far as I’m concerned, babies the opposite of altruistic (adj unselfish) Babies need constant attention and never, ever show any sign of gratitude. I looked over at the ostentatious (adj trying to attract attention) baby in disgust. I did this until my masseuse returns from greeting the baby and continues when she left off. I was having a relatively good time until I saw Nina. Nina was Greg’s sadistic girlfriend. She got a sick pleasure from dressing me up in costumes. Not only did she dress me up in these awful costumes, she furthered my humiliation by taking pictures of me in them! Greg knew I hated these costumes but would do anything to please the horrendous monster known as Nina. She got herself a drink and socialized for a while. I began to think I was off the hook this time until she grabbed her bag and walked over to me with a huge grin on her face, camera in her left hand. I began to meow to the woman who’s lap I was occupying. She did not catch on. Were those meows esoteric (adj hard to understand) or something? Why wasn’t she doing anything to rescue me from Nina?! Greg walked over to see what Nina was up to. My respect for Greg plummeted (v fell sharply) when he assured her of the costume’s cuteness and let her put me in the costume. My refusal to put my arms in the sleeves aggravated Nina but she did not give up easily. When she finally trapped me in the costume she took a picture and showed it to me, needless to say I was horrified. In the rag I was supposed to be emulating (v imitating) a turkey. Once again my attempts at a struggle failed and I glared at Greg as Nina paraded me apartment. A group of women were cooing at me and telling Nina how adorable I looked. I felt incredibly denigrated (v ridiculed) when she felt the need to make more pictures. After about an hour of being trapped as a turkey, Greg freed me from the costume. Although he released me from my feathery prison, I was still furious with him. I glared at him throughout the rest of the night until clean up. He obviously felt bad about earlier so he offered a conciliatory (adj meant to make peace) gesture. With the first taste of the leftovers, I forgave him.

  4. The anomalous1 (adj. irregular; abnormal addition) addition of these penguins to the candy corn may seem an act of chicanery2 (adj. trickery; deception), but don’t worry, I’m not trying to make anyone’s self-esteem plummet3 (v. to fall sharply) of denigrate4 (adj. to ridicule; to make fun of) anyone for not seeing the pragmatic5 (adj. practical) reason for this esoteric6 (adj. hard to understand) change. I thought the picture of the candy corn was insipid7 (adj. lacking in flavor, dull) so I made a cursory8 (adj. very quick) and ostentatious9 (adj. pretentious; trying to attract attention) alteration to buttress10 (v. to support; to prop up) the image.

  5. Every year in New York City, the merchants put on what they call “The Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade,” whose main purpose is to flaunt their opulence (n., affluence). This ostentatious (adj., pretentious) show has become insipid (adj., lacking in flavor, dull) event to most spectators. It has become so predictable every year that no one is paying but cursory (adj. very quick) attention to the huge contraptions floating in the air. No one notices that this year, there is something anomalous (adj. irregular, abnormal) about the Pokémon. The Pokémon is no ordinary balloon simply buttressed (v. to support, to prop up) up in the air. He came to being by the arduous (adj. strenuous) work of computer programmers with esoteric (adj. hard to understand) motives. The computer programmers were despondent (adj. extremely discouraged) about the society’s tendency to denigrate (v. to ridicule, to make fun of) them. So they installed an ingenious device on the eye of Pokémon to punish the offenders in a manner commensurate (adj. corresponding in extent or degree; proportionate) to their offense. They waited and watched the TV to see if the chicanery (n. trickery; deception) worked. The whole parade passed through the gullible (adj. easily deceived) spectators all morning with no unusual incident. After the usual, but great Thanksgiving dinner with the families, the computer programmers realized that their programs were a “turkey” and that they should take a conciliatory (adj. soothing; meant to make peace) attitude to the society for pragmatic (adj. practical) reasons.

Leave a Reply

