SEM, W1, #6: IF YOU COULD STEAL ONE LINE/PHRASE

Back story: In a poem as long and constantly evolving/changing as Wordsworth’s piece (“Tintern Abbey”, for short) that we’ve been reading, there are countless lines/phrases that seem to have a life of their own, that almost seem as if they could be a title for a new poem or story.

This is similar to when we listen to a song and find a lyric that seems to speak to something far deeper in our lives.  We write it down so that it never is forgotten.  It becomes an anthem for our lives — a shortcut expression that says how we’re feeling and how we see the world around us.

Challenge:

  • Find one line from this poem that grabs your attention for any reason whatsoever (and not even because of what Wordsworth is trying to say in his own poem).  Ideally the line/phrase has the potential to inspire a piece of writing, be the title of a poem/story, or just be a life anthem/quote for you personally.
  • React to the line in one of two ways:  1) Explain why it has such an impact on you or 2) write a short paragraph/poem that is inspired by (or uses) the line/phrase.

Length: 7+ sentences/lines

49 responses to “SEM, W1, #6: IF YOU COULD STEAL ONE LINE/PHRASE

  1. I chose a phrase from line 53. It is “fever of the world [.]” When I first read this it jumped out at me immediately, and I had to write it down. I actually wrote this right after I read it. I write song lyrics, so this is something I might use for a chorus of a song.

    Well hand me that thermometer I think I’m getting sick
    From the fever of this world
    It’s catching up with me
    Even though I’ve tried for so long to avoid it
    So much work and so little play, so much time and but not enough each day
    But I’m getting tired of trying,
    So I guess I’m just going to take it slow and try
    To get better

  2. “…the tall rock, the mountain, and the deep and gloomy wood, their colors and their forms, were then to me an appetite; a feeling and a love, that had no need of a remoter charm…”

    This line stood out boldly to me. It made me mentally paint a picture in my head, a guy surrounded by a tall dark rock, wood and a very high mountain. The most automatic colors that came to my mind were dark, because of the word ‘gloomy’ that this person had used in the above quote. I visualized this person turning in circles, catching a glimpse of the tall, dark mountain, the rock, and gloomy wood all at once. And that creatively stood out to me. 🙂

  3. “thy mind shall be a mansion for all lovely forms, Thy memory be as a dwelling place”
    139-141

    I liked this because its illustrates the fleeting beauty of moments. Not everything can be revisited physically, but memories can always capture a moment. When I think of this, it makes me feel like the mind is a scrapbook. The pages and pictures were once shiny and new, but tarnish and blur and become disfigured over time. It’s almost as if you can escape to your memories, like they are a dwelling place or mansion. This is a comforting thought, when the present isn’t nearly as wonderful as what has passed. I pictured someone dazing off and feeling calm because they were away in their own little world.

  4. “While with an eye made quiet by the power of harmony, and the deep power of joy, we see into the life of things.”

    This line was beautifully written and it just flowed really well. To me, this line was speaking of something so beautiful or awe-inspiring that you are left in silence. There really aren’t words to describe that something and you are just admiring it silently. It also reminds me of how joy and happiness make us feel. When you’re happy, you see things in a happier light. You simply see the good in people. I can’t exactly describe what it is, but I find this line really beautiful and it is probably my favorite part of the whole poem.

  5. “These waters, rolling from their mountain-springs / With a soft inland murmur.”

    I think that this line allows the reader to picture a great scene in their mind. It allows them to think about a calm relaxing environment. Because they have this picture in their mind, they can now go throughout the poem relating to Wordsworth’s words. The line is also constructed very well. It also flows very well. And it contributes to one of those poems, where it makes you feel happy inside and you want to read more just because it makes you feel happy and warm inside. I think that Wordsworth did a really good job inroducing the scene, which in my opinion is a major accomplishment. I cannot exactly explain why I like this line, its not really a line that would exactly catch someones eye right off the bat, but I think for some reason it just makes me picture a happy place, a sort of Utopia.

  6. “We see into the life of things.” (48)

    The Man in his Chair

    I see the man, comfortable and calm, in his chair,
    his weathered skin analogous to the feel of that ole’ rocker. A heavy breath allows every creak to be felt as he leans back. A silent breeze blows past him, like the life he once lived. He grasps the chair with his thick and feelingless hands, supporting himself to rise. He takes a drink of his lemonade and goes back to work.

  7. It’s not so much as a line but a word that stood out, the word “sylvan” (line 56). I’d never heard it before, but the little thingy in the margin said it was an adjective “associated with the forest or woodlands.” For me it conjures images of myserious trees and nocternal life, and I see a very mystical and beautiful place. “Sylvan” is also a beautiful word in itself, like “silver.” It could be a very nice name for a person (though my kid would most likely hate me if I named him/her that). It would, however, be a very nice name for a character . . .

  8. “More like a man flying from something that he dreads, than one who sought the thing he loved.”

    I really loved this line. It’s so sad; he really puts himself on a level that we as a reader can understand and relate to. That sentence is art, and that’s pretty much all I have to say about it. In response, I wrote a poem. I just put it in five syllable lines for structure, but it doesn’t rhyme or anything. I want to call it “Irredeemable”.

    An ignorant child
    Without a purpose
    Finds joy when it’s lost.
    Brought in for repair
    It is then polished
    Cultivated and
    Refined; it’s broken.
    A sensible man
    Will look for what was
    And knows is not there.

  9. “Until the breath of this corporeal frame/ we are laid asleep”

    This line truly exemplifies how much this “Tintern Abbey” is to William Wordsworth. This line shows me how much he loves this place. This is like his home, his haven. I couldn’t believe that such a place truly amazed him after reading this line. It makes me wonder what place makes my blood suspended and so amazed. We all might have a place, one that pleases us. It would be so interesting to know what those places are for those people. Such a line put me on the hunt for my “landscape to a blind man’s eye”.

  10. “When the fretful stir unprofitable, and the fever of the world, have hung upon the beatings of my heart- how oft, in spirit, have I turned to thee, o sylvan Wye!” (52-56)

    It seems like with each passing day a new worry, a new stress adds itself to the others. At times, I feel like I can’t bear anymore of this. Something bad has happened, and I ardently wish that it had never happened to me or to my family, but there is nothing I can do about it. I feel powerless because I can’t do anything to ease the pain of the people around me, but I want to. The only way I can help is to make sure that I stay strong, and to do this I need something to turn to, something to look to for help and for reassurance. The Wye was Wordsworth’s reassurance, it was his tree to lean on when times got tough. Right now, I am looking for my own Wye, but I don’t know where to look. I wish I could find something to help me be strong, because right now I am only relying on my own personal strength to keep it together. I’m afraid that soon, that won’t be enough and I might let down the people around me.

  11. “…more like a man
    Flying from something that he dreads, than one
    Who sought the thing he loved.” (lines 70-72)

    This is from stanza three when Wordsworth is describing how he has changed from the first time he was in this place. I really do not know why this caught my attention while I was reading but it was underlined, highlighted and starred so I thought I better use it. I think I chose this because I know how it feels to love and hate something equally. I know what its like to be afraid the hate will overpower your love and thus cause life to be loveless and pointless. This line shows a conflict that most go through deciding whether to do something because you love it or doing it because you hate the oppisite. This could not out right be an ‘anthem’ for my life but it could serve as a reminder that life should be lived for the things you love doing the people you love being with. Also this line reminds me of a character in one of the stories that I am writing. He is so consumed by hate for his past that he can never really lived. I don’t know I just really wish I would of come up with this… 🙂

  12. “And now, with gleams of half-extinguished thought,
    With many recognitions dim and faint,
    And somewhat of a sad perplexity,
    The picture of the mind revives again…”

    This was just amazingly beautiful. “The picture of the mind revives again” was simply a great way to put remembering. “Recognitions dim and faint…” makes me think of fuzzy memories–the ones that I know exist, but I can’t completely recall in full detail…the ones that really make me sad.

  13. “ Though changed, no doubt, from what I was when first I came among these hills”(66-67)

    I picked this line because I can completely see this change in myself and others because of certain events. This line causes me to recall the feeling I have often felt when I return to a garden or home where I went often as a child and realize that nothing is as large or magical as I thought it once was. It is always amazing to me how as a child my imagination enhanced all my experiences to such a large degree. I have so many memories of different locations and then when I revisit those places they seem completely different from how I pictured them. These thoughts have definitely influenced my poem because this feeling is very familiar to me and causes me to often feel like I am experiencing things for the first time when in reality I’ve visited some place various times. Change in people seems to have to do partly with their realization, as they grow, that the world looks like a different place not only because things have actually changed but because they have grown and changed as a person. I always am surprised by the violence or kidnappings that occur in our world and when I think back as a child its not that those things weren’t present in the world but that I was not exposed to them but in my memory it seems as though those things just didn’t exist. Though I recognize that viewing the world in a more real way is part of growing up I frequently daydream about the places I visited as a child and the innocence that I realize now I took for granted.

  14. “Nature never did betray the heart that loved her; tis per privilege, through all the years of this our life, to lead from joy to joy…”

    This line stood out to me because the narrator’s connection with nature really reminds me of my father’s. My daddy loves to be riding his bike out in the middle of nowhere with no cell phone service, and with little yapping dogs chasing after him. He says that it is in these places that he feels ‘one’ with the world, and fully at peace. I believe that we all have our secret havens in nature because we as humans are attracted to the beautiful and the terrible, and nature can offer us both. I also liked this line because Wordsworth states that nature never betrayed those who loved her, but leads them from happiness to happiness. Those who love Mother Nature will never be alone because she is always with us.

  15. I like the lines 35 and 36, “His little, nameless, unremembered acts of kindness and of love.” It tells the reader that the little things you do in life is important. Because Wordsworth calls it “little, nameless, unremembered acts of kindness and of love,” the little deeds are no longer little, nameless, nor unremembered. It reminds me how many times people have given me the so many acts of kindness and of love, such as a kind smile a quick word of encouragement, or other things such as that shows common humanity. I even see my parents just giving the common homeless person who asks a little money. Teachers, friends, I can’t count and I don’t have names for all, and I don’t remember all the occasions. I just call it “a wonderful life,” and I remember to be thankful. However little it may have seemed to them, all the people’s kindness means a lot to me. I wish I thought of the phrase. In return, I wish to reciprocate and give lots of “little, nameless, unremembered acts of kindness and of love” back to the society. This phrase makes me think about all that.

  16. Original poem:

    “Nor dread nor hope attend
    A dying animal;
    A man awaits his end
    Dreading and hoping all;
    Many times he died,
    Many times rose again.
    A great man in his pride
    Confronting murderous men
    Casts derision upon
    Supersession of breath;
    He knows death to the bone
    Man has created death.”

    I felt very strongly about the line “Man has created death”, referring to humans in general. This line answers many of the questions people ask one another. For example, man created ships which travel across to ocean but also leaving behind pollution in the water and by taking a boat across an entire ocean this leaves the door open for potential mass oil spills. Oil spills kill mass numbers of sea creatures or you run the risk of endangered species. Everything man has created somehow is a circle around the very thing humans are afraid of, death.

    My poem:

    “The call that people have only heard of,
    but never once imagined could happen
    A world wide epidemic ready to be forever released.
    A bridge collapses in the horizon
    The same bridge your lover takes everyday to work
    Man has created death.”

  17. “Of thoughtless youth; but hearing oftentimes the still, sad music of humanity”

    This line impacted me in way that I cannot really explain. I believe it’s saying that humanity is corrupt? I think that that’s the most accurate expression of what I think this line mean. When I read this line I felt like I was almost being analyzed or being criticized for who I was. It made nature seem to be the only thing in the world that hasn’t been infected. It suggests just how insignificant humanity is compared to nature, almost as if nature is mocking us. That whatever we do our efforts are futile.

  18. Late reply

    Line 44: “And even the motion of our human blood”

    This line caught my attention more than any and had the greatest impact on me for a few reasons. Everyone is always moving whether it’s a sport, from class to class, or just about anything else. We are always moving about and always doing something in our lives. But I don’t just mean physically, but also emotionally. Love and hate is the main thing that comes to mind when I read this quote. Our blood pulses with our feelings of others, our situation, and our lives. The way we act is the motion of our blood each and every day.

  19. Student Response #1

    I’m responding to student number 1.

    I had actually read your lyrics before we needed to write feedback for a blog entry. I think they are phenomenal. I completely see what your lyrics are talking about while appreciating the true poetry of them. The words seem to flow naturally and there don’t seem to be any random forced phrases. Even though there aren’t very many lyrics, the message still gets through. I think the last phrase “and try/To get better” was fabulous. I’m not sure where the stress is supposed to be when the lyrics are sung, but while I was reading them, that last part really stood out to me. The fact that you took four words and made it into this, and for merely a blog entry, is amazing. You really have talent as a song writer.

  20. Student Response #2

    I wanted to respond to Student 14:

    I really liked this particular entry. The line “Nature never did betray the heart that loved her…” was one of my favorites too.

    I really liked the story about your daddy; it was pretty endearing actually. It’s also something I can relate to. I mean, who DOESN’T like being accompanied by yappy dogs on your bike ride? Note: the last sentence was in no way sarcastic. Your comment about humans being attracted to the beautiful and the terrible, and about nature offering us both was very insightful, and I pondered this for awhile. I agree that everyone has their own personal haven in nature, and I believe that people do have an innate feeling of intimacy with the earth. Some people are more in touch with this intimacy than others, but I don’t think there is a person out there who can’t feel awed by the marvels of this world, be they hideous or beautiful.

    I’d just like to end with a thank you for offering something for us to reflect upon.

  21. Student Response #3

    This is a response to student 1, but I also mention student 8.

    First of all, I have to say, I admire both posts for going beyond what everybody else, including myself, did.

    You two actually chose the option of writing a poem in response to the line that grabbed your attention. This takes so much more emotional and mental effort than simply writing a few sentences and I applaud that effort.

    Student 1, I hadn’t noticed that line, “fever of the world”, before. Now, when I read it in your entry, I can see that hidden potential in it that holds so many possibilities. It sounds like it could be the lyrics of a rock song, the musings of an old poet on the side of the road, or even the distress of an overworked, underpaid business man, aspiring for that executive office, but knowing it will always be out of reach. The line could be used to express the lament of a man in his suicide note or be contained in the rejoicing of a child, overjoyed with the world and their existence. Thank you for pointing out this specific line, it is definitely something to keep in the back of my mind.

  22. Student Response #4

    I am responding to student #8

    I remember reading this part of the poem and thinking it was so cool. What’s even cooler is what you have done with it. I love your poem.

    My favorite part is “Finds joy when it’s lost.” I think it is a statement about humankind in general. Even when we get stuck or confused in life, we still try to make it fun. I also like “Will look for what was / And knows is not there.” It shows how people try to be something they once were but realize they can’t get it back. Or at least that’s my interpretation.

    I think your poem honors the classic piece its inspired by, but also gives it a modern twist.

  23. Student Response #5

    I am responding to Student 15

    I absolutely adored this line when I first read it and I really like the response to it also.

    I think that the irony of this line is that after we read about the ‘unremembered’ deeds, we remember all of the kind acts that we have done and others have done for us in our life. I think that our lives are not based on how famous we become or how much money we make but how many people we touch with our acts of kindness and love.

    I just lost someone very close to me, and he absolutely personified this line. He touched so many people just by living the way he knew how- by being kind to everyone and helping anyone who asked for help. I think that even though we may often ask ourselves ‘what is the point?’, someone is always watching, and we may inspire someone we didn’t even know what was watching. In return for all the little acts of kindness that others bestow onto us, we unconsciously begin to copy the behavior because we see what a difference it can make

  24. Student Response #6

    I am responding to student number 8.

    This line is very striking and as student number 8 said is extremely relatable. The idea that a person is more concerned with what he or she wants to avoid in life rather than what they want to achieve is relative to our society. This is not a permanent mindset of mine but one that I have definitely experienced. Sometimes there are certain people or situations that a person feels like they have to avoid and this worry and dread consumes them. And when a person is consumed with worry or dread there is little room to think about their goals.

    Also the poem written by this student is great, and the structure is simple but appropriate. Rhyming or more syllables per line would have taken away from this poem. The idea that children are ignorant of disturbances in the real world and therefore can find joy in broken situations is inspiring. It is inspiring in that, it causes readers to wonder if knowing less and being happy is better than realizing harsh realities and being overly practical about situations.

  25. Student Response #7

    I’m responding to Student #16

    I am so incredibly impressed with this blog on several levels.

    First of all, I appreciate how you displayed the entire Original Poem. This helped the reader capture the full impact of the last line. This is a clever segue that leads seamlessly into your main theme, which transitions into your poem. My favorite part of the Original Poem is, “Man has created death.” This line captures how incredibly circuitous the nature of life is. Figuratively speaking, I share this philosophy on how we all eventually circle around our own personal paths, ultimately ending up where we began.

    Secondly, I like your example of how mankind has built ships, traveled the ocean, polluted our waterways and endangered and / or harmed sea creatures in their natural habitat.

    Lastly, I am equally impressed with your poem because you wrote it even though it was not a required element of the blog entry. You went above and beyond. This is a well thought out blog entry.

  26. Student Response #8

    I am responding to student number 8.

    The reason I am responding to you is because we wanted to steal the same phrase! 🙂 (You responded first so you can have it)

    And I agree this is a line that expresses so much a reader feels and can relate to. This quote about sums up half the hardships in life in about two lines. I think Wordsworth’s ability (and he does this numerous times throughout Tintern Abbey) to express so many things in a few words, the ability to mean about ten things but only say one, is what makes him so talented. It is also what made this poem very enjoyable for me. I also agree as I said in my response, that it is truly sad when you live because you hate something rather than loving life and every aspect of it.

    Also neat poem, I can really see how this phrase can create something like that. 😉

  27. Student Response #9

    I’m responding to Student #3.

    That’s cool about the mind being like a scrapbook: “The pages and pictures were once shiny and new, but tarnish and blur and become disfigured over time.” I’d never thought about it that way. There’s no real way to keep a memory perfectly clear (well, unless you digitally record it, but that’s beside the point). But sometimes blurred memories are just that much better. The excitement’s died down, the images are no longer so shiny and sharp to the eye, and you have a nice, comfortable place to retreat to when the world’s giving you stress.

    Westley pulls a similar trick in the book The Princess Bride. It’s when the Count was torturing him in the Zoo of Death:

    “He had felt no pain, not once, none. He had closed his eyes and taken his brain away. That was the secret. If you could take your brain away from the present and send it to where it could contemplate skin like wintry cream; well, let them enjoy themselves. His revenge time would come.”

  28. Student Response #10

    I’m responding to student 4.

    I completely agree with you that when you are happier you see things in a brighter light. I also think that things are beautiful while staring at them in peace and quiet, like while you’re at an art gallery. You chose a great quote, it really captures the essence of the beauty of the world in silence. The deepness of joy and seeing into the life of things flow together really well. It makes you believe that there will be no wrong in this world if there were no words to be said. It’s a really nice quote.

  29. Student Response #11

    I would like to respond to student # 1.

    First off, WOW those are some amazing lyrics. They are really great and I can definetly hear them on some hit single some day. Words flow very naturally making it, probably, an easy task for a musician to add music. I also think the quote you used gives a lot to work with and that’s great causeI definetly can’t wait to read the rest of the song one day. It’s also very emotional with ‘feeling sick’ and everyone can relate to it, cause everyone has felt ill before. ‘Fever of the World’ is definetly somethign that alot of people can interpret differently and I think that’s also a reason why it’s quite a stand-out quote.

    Fact of the matter is, you did a great job and it’s easily understood even though the quote can be viewed differently. Can’t wait to hear you name sometime on E! news.

  30. Student Response #12

    I am responding to student 16:

    I completely understand what you are trying to say. I am sure there are many interpretations of the quote, but I really like the way you used it. Explaining that to people can easily help them understand the concept. Showing that humans are slowly causing death to themselves and animals.

    I also like your poem that you created a lot. It was short and to the point and made a lot of sense. When I think about it, it reminds me of movies like I Am Legend, where people have created something good, but ends up becoming terrible.

  31. Student Response #13

    I am responding to student #1

    I know several people have already given this entry feedback, but it grabbed my attention and wouldn’t let go. First of all, I love it. The lyrics make sense, work well, and sound good. The message completely captures the essence of the quote. The lyrics masterfully capture the idea of the sickness of the world; the illness of over activity. The lyrics not only illustrate a modern sense of the sickness or worldliness and the struggle to escape it. They also capture Wordsworth’s own world-weariness and his feeling of a losing struggle to escape from the “fever of the world.” I just want to say thank you for writing that lyric.

  32. Student Response #14

    I am responding to student 12

    I also think these four or five lines were amazing. They sort of had an affect on me as they did you. I like how instead of just using the word remembering he uses “The picture of the mind revives again”. I thought that was great, like he could remember it but not in such great detail. Its like the poem was writing right now, we have to pick a memory from at least two years ago and describe it. It’s almost as if were taking his place and writing that poem. These lines are a perfect example of our poem were currently writing, so good choice.

  33. Student Response #15

    Respnding to student #4

    First off I would like to say, I like the quote you have chosen. You might need to explain the explanation a bit more. I like how you provided examples though. Nice touch. i like like how you can see happier things in a brighter light. Overall pretty nice quote and explanation.

  34. Student Response #16

    I am responding to Student # 3

    I like those lines also, and you pointed out the fleeting nature of moment, as well as the memories dwelling as in mansions. Indeed it is a comforting thought that we have all the lovely things in our memories to help us and strengthen us during difficult times. It would also remind us to keep doing the right things to create good memories for the future. (That’s a little preachy, but it’s logical.) I think having a mental “scrapbook” (good comparison) of good thoughts is extremely important to keep us grounded and happy. It would give you a sense of self-worth and feel like life is great. That may be why your parents did all those things, to give you good childhood memories to fall back on. When you picture someone “dazing off” and “feeling calm” in their own world, you might be picturing your own lucky self.

  35. Student Response #17

    I am responding to student # 9

    I completely agree with student number nine. One that is a beautiful line in the poem and two I truely do believe everyone has a place on this world that makes them feel so wonderful and at peace. I would also have to agree with student number nine by stating I really do see how much William Wordsworth loves the place he is talking about. This is where he is comfortable exploring. To answer student number nines wuestion I would have to say my favorite spot in nature for me is my backyard. It is peaceful, calm, and I can go there whenever I need to be alone and think. I like to go there because I feel so at home and comfortable and I feel nothing can put me down there. Overall I completely agree with student number nines blog entry.

  36. Student Response #18

    I am responding to student #1

    That line jumped out at me as well. I think that it’s really cool that you write song lyrics. I am completely obsessed with music and it is basically playing wherever I am. Also music can really show the power of language. Different songs provoke different emotions. I listen to certain songs when I’m upset, happy, or angry. Music can pretty much determine my mood. Keep up the songwriting! One day when you are famous I can be like OMG I WENT TO SCHOOL WITH THEM! 🙂

  37. Student Response #19

    Responding to Student #6

    I also noticed that line and loved it quite a bit. ”We see into the life of things”…amazingly profound. What does it even mean? I loved your interpretation of an old man, because that just felt completely right to me. Looking into the old man’s life. But I found it interesting how you didn’t even need to explain the man’s background. You simply used clever wording to give me impressions about this man. I have ideas about who he is, what he has done, and where he is going, though you gave me none of this information.

  38. Student Response #20

    I’m responding to student #1 from the if I could steal a line blog.

    I just thought that their poem/lyrics was really good. I also think it’s cool that they write songs in general. I think this blog stood out to me because I can relate to the song lyrics/poem that they wrote. It seems that I can’t keep up with life anymore. There is always more to do for school, or more practices to go to. There just doesn’t seem to be enough time in the day. Sometimes I feel like I just want to give up on it all, and wish I wasn’t an overachiever, but I keep going. I think the fact that I could relate to the poem/lyrics that this person wrote was the main reason that they stood out. I want to encourage them to keep writing, and maybe submit a song to calliope because they’re really good.

  39. Student Response #22

    I am responding to student #15

    The reason yours caught my eye is because in my book that is the line I too underlined and starred. I think you said it beautifully when you said that because he mentions the tiny acts, it shows that he remembers them and appreciated them. I’m personally a pscyco and remember and appreciate everything tiny that anyone has ever done for me because the world is changing and kindness is just not that important anymore. That is why little deeds stand out more now than ever. Back in his time though, people were supposed to be chivelrous so little tiny acts of kindness would be over looked and I think that is what your trying to say. I also totally agree when you say that everything we do in life is important. We never really know how we affect people so we should treat them how we would want to be treated, even the little things we do for people are important. Doing this reminds us, as you said, to be thankful for all the acts of kindness in return and the want ot spread that kindness to everyone, just like in that movie Pay it Forward. If everyone did that, which is what you are insinuating, it would continue to be “a wonderful life.”

  40. Student Response #23

    I am responding to Student #15:

    I really enjoyed their response to the lines. I actually hadn’t even noticed these lines when I was reading the original poem. Like this student, the lines remind of all people I need to thank for the little things they did for me. It really got to me when they thanked everyone. I agree that these little things “show common humanity.” When they mentioned the homeless person, I felt really proud. I know someone who went through a long period of being homeless. Most of the time the only human contact he experienced was looks of disgust or even worse people looking away from him as if he did not even exist. When the occasional person gave him a couple dimes it didn’t come close to the feeling of someone simply smiling at him, just acknowledging his presence. So through him, I really understand the importance of little gestures.

  41. Student Response #24

    I am responding to student # 3.

    I agree that we always have our memories. I like how our memories are compared to a scrapbook. That is how I picture it. I like that we can choose which memories to keep in our minds (scrapbooks) and which to throw out. I guess we can’t really throw them out but we can put them in the back of our scrapbooks and focus on the pictures up front. Those are the ones we can show to others. The ones that will make their lives better and enjoyable. It all is about our outlook.

  42. Student Response #25

    This is a response to Student #11.

    When you said “He is so consumed by hate for his past that he can never really lived,” it kind of reminded me of Hellboy. This caught my attention too, however I never thought of it as equally hating and loving something. I saw it more as a fear of the future, than an excitement. It seemed like excitement versus apprehension to me. I like that you pointed out the difference between standing for something or standing against the other.

    I was curious though, as to what made you relate to this verse so much. You said that you had experienced this emotion, and I just was wondering what other situations this would apply to.

  43. Student Response #26

    I am responding to Student #4.

    The way you felt about the line, ““While with an eye made quiet by the power of harmony, and the deep power of joy, we see into the life of things.”, is insanely agreeable. I know exactly what you’re trying to say, even though you’re not expressing yourself in many words. The way happiness and joy make you feel are undescribable, and in a way weird way I knew exactly what you were talking about the whole time. I agree with completly, I’m not sure how to explain it, but those emotions make you feel lighter inside and all together bubbly, like everything is fallen into place, and the way that line is written almost defines that feeling. I think you did a great job, and I understood you very well, but I’m not sure if everyone else could be able to grasp what we’re understanding though. It has few words, but it’s one of those things you would have to try and explain for everybody else that really has no clue what you’re talking about, just try and describe the feeling more next time.

  44. Student Response #27

    I am responding to Student #5.

    Among the quotes in the blog entries, this one was the one that hit me the most powerfully imagery-wise. The others had more of a deeper meaning that left the reader pondering, but this line hits the reader right away and leaves them with a fantastic image of scenery. The “soft murmur” of the waters is a fantastic phrase that creates a sense of calmness. I think this line, though not important on a deeper level, helps give the reader an understanding of why this place was so important to Wordsworth. The beauty described and imagery painted allows us to see the innocence and the awesomeness of nature Wordsworth believes in and truly allows us to grasp his message. Perhaps it is not intended to be over-analyzed, but when dissecting this quote I found a message of purity and innocence. Mountains and streams are, in my opinion, associated with purity (Ozarka drinking water, which is ‘pure’ mountain water… bad example, I know, hehe). The combination of the beautiful scenery he generates with his language and the innocence of a mountain stream forms the message of purity Wordsworth is trying to relay throughout the entire poem.

  45. Student Response #28

    I’m responding to student #8

    I really wish I could have stumbled upon these lines to do my own response to this blog. I read your sort of intro paragraph and couldn’t help but notice the “Forest Gump” language, “And that’s all I have to say about that.”

    Then I read your poem and felt touched on a deeper level and it was almost as if you took a quick dip into the lines. It got me thinking, could you take a poem like “Tintern Abbey” and in every meaningful line develop more in depth description of the line. Then I realized, that is the wonder of literature, there is no end. In this day in age most people can write at anytime about anything they want. The writing, it keeps going and going like the energizer bunny.

  46. Student Response #29

    I’m responding to student #4.

    You wanted to focus on lines: “While with an eye made quiet by the power of harmony, and the deep power of joy, we see into the life of things.”

    You mention that sometimes we are left in utter silence. I completely agree with you that his line is describing that awe-some moment that we literally cannot speak. I also love the line “eye made quiet…” It implies a lot of different things. I personally think Wordsworth is telling us how busy and constantly on the move our eyes are. We are always ‘looking’ and searching for the next big thing. When our eye is “made quiet,” it’s like we are forced to stop, and admire harmony and happiness, and when we finally do, we can understand more clearly what we once and still are.

  47. Student Response #30

    Im responding to student 3:

    I like how student 3 portrayed memories. They said “memories can capture a moment”, which shows that we hold on to memories forever. Its true that its almost as if there is part of our brain just for memories. Memories last forever as student 3 proved. They referred to the mind as a “scrapbook” which therefore would be referring to memories as the pages or stories within the book. Once memories get old, the pages become torn and “tarnished”. These were once new pages out of a book. This shows there still there even though they are not as new as they once have been. I really like students 3’s use of imagery.

  48. Student Response #31

    I am responding to Student #4

    I thought this was a very powerful line from Wordsworth’s poem. In addition to what you said, I think this line reminds us that if we look at the world harmoniously and peacefully we are able to see the deeper meaning behind the things around us. I like how you were able to connect this line to your life and let us know what it means to you. It’s very true what you said about looking at things silently and seeing them for what they really are.

  49. Student Response #31

    I am responding to student #8.

    I like the line you selected and I agree that it is sad and we all can probably relate to this in some way. The thought of having to flee from a terror, greater than the power of love or desire is saddening. It shows us how it is natural for humans to act upon first instinct in explosive situations like “An ignorant child
    Without a purpose”.This ignorance, Whether it be fear or love that guides the decision, often isn’t thought through and ends up badly. It is sad that all humans are susceptible to this situation and everyone usually ends up making a fool of ourselves by it. But once our problem is gone “A sensible man Will look for what was And knows is not there.” . tells us that after our decision is made and the problem gone, we look back at it. With our emotions somewhat softened we can look back on them sensibly. It is only then when our faults are realized.

Leave a Reply

