SEM2, W1, #7: 6 DEGREES OF SEPARATION

WARNING:  DO NOT COPY/PASTE full paragraphs (from Wikipedia and other websites).

To get credit, you MUST write the descriptions of each stage in your own writing.  Learning facts from other resources is fine, but it is not academically acceptable to simply copy/paste.  This will be considered academic dishonesty (in addition to making it impossible for Mr. Long to give you credit).

Please be careful.

***

Back story: We’ve done this many times over by this point, so I’ll assume you recall the spirit of this prompt without me going through all the details.  There must be 6 — fully described — stages to connect the two items.  Good luck.

Challenge: Connect in 6 stages the following:

  • “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” (currently in movie theaters)
  • William Wordsworth (or any of the other “Romantic Era” poets found in your literature text).

Length: As appropriate, but it is expected that some explanation will go with each stage.

40 responses to “SEM2, W1, #7: 6 DEGREES OF SEPARATION

  1. 1) I saw the “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” and thought it was a great “movie” (2). Brad Pitt did an excellent job, and the content of the movie was good.

    2) “Movies” are awesome they are a fun way to entertain the human “mind”(3), depending on what type of mind the person has. If he has an action mind like me, then he may likesthe “blowing up”, “shooting”, and “beating up” movies.

    3) The “mind” is an amazing part of us. Though my mind has holes and is filled with lots of “videogames”(4). So you can say what my parents say, “my brain has so many holes; my brain is sooner of later going to turn into mashed potatoes; and my mind will go insane.”

    4) In “videogames”, I need to boost my comrade’s spirits especially in Counter Strike, Call of Duty, or Halo. So in order to do that I either play/sing a song, go “Drill Sargent” on everybody (meaning yelling and bossing them around like a Drill Sargent), or read “poetry”(5). One time in Battlefield: Bad Company, I was sitting in a foxhole made by artillery shells. The enemy had been bombing us to death so then it would be easier to take our gold (thats the objective for attackers: take the gold, defenders prevent the attackers from taking the gold; I was a defender). After sitting in the foxholes for many mins, there was nothing left of the base. I figured another strike would come, but it never did. It was just very quiet. No tanks, no infantry, and no artillery shells. I said to my allies, “Man its All Quiet on the Western Front. Finally peace comrades, now stay in cover for the enemy is still in this fight, and they want our gold.

    5 + 6) Poetry is interesting. Its not something I would read, for I read Sci-Fi novels. I read a poem written by “William Wordsworth”(6) for English. I think the content is good inside, but the words just keep draggingon, and it hard to understand. Which is why I didn’t like Tinturn Abbey personally. But I like the Haiku’s in the book.

    Note: In (4) that event in Battlefield: Bad Company is an actual event that happened to me in that game.

  2. Step (1): “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” was directed by David Fincher. David Fincher was also thanked i n the movie credits, “WALL*E”.

    Step (2): WALL*E a robot, spends every day doing what he was made for. But soon, he will discover what he was meant for.

    Step (3): Robot- a machine that resembles a human and does mechanical, routine tasks on command. Robots is also a movie, about a robot inventor whose dream is to go to his inspiration’s company.

    Step (4): Machines- A simple device, such as a lever, a pulley, or an inclined plane, that alters the magnitude or direction, or both, of an applied force; a simple machine.

    Step (5): Cockermouth lays claim to be the first town in Britain to pilot electric lighting, reputedly in 1881.

    Step (6): William Wordsworth was born in this city of Cockermouth. He was an English Romantic Poet during the late 1700’s.

  3. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (1) has alliteration (2) in the title. Alliteration is the repetition of consonant sounds at the beginning of words. It is a common literary device.

    A famous use of alliteration (2) is Peter Piper picked a pack of pickled peppers. Peppers (3) are a delicious vegetable often used in Spanish cooking. Some varieties, such as the Habanero, are very spicy, while others, like the Bell, are sweet.

    Peppers (3) grow on plants such as trees or vines (4). Vines are plants that are long and relatively thin. They can be used for growing food, or can be used for decoration. Ivy is a popular decoration choice (just not poison ivy!)

    Vines (4) often have thorns (5) growing on them. Thorns are sharp and painful when they are touched. They can even draw blood if you really grab them. Thorns also grow on plants such as roses.

    “The Thorn” (5) is a poem by William Wordsworth (6). William Wordsworth is a famous poet from the romantic period. He was from England, where Romanticism quickly became a major concept that many people loved.

  4. 1) “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” is a movie that I have not yet had the privilege of seeing, but I really am looking forward to watching it. The only thing I know about the movie is that there is a man who’s aging process is reversed; instead of him growing older, he grows younger (2).

    2) Getting younger instead of growing old is a twist that I have encountered in a comic titled “Invincible”. Invincible is a comic published by “Dark Horse Comics” (3) and is about a teenage boy with powers not too different from Superman, but he inherited his powers from his still living father. His father however, is an alien (that happens to look human) and was sent to Earth to destroy it, but his son, Invincible, stands up to him. So there’s the plot, it’s a good graphic novel. In case anyone’s interested…

    3) Well anyway, Dark Horse Comics (3) is a publishing company (for comics and graphic novels, of course) but they’re not as mainstream as DC and Marvel. But they’re becoming more well known with their release of the movies Hellboy and Hellboy II: The Golden Army, based on one of their more popular characters. I have not seen Hellboy, but I have seen Hellboy II, which was directed by Guillermo del Toro (4).

    4) I have only seen two Guillermo del Toro movies. One was Hellboy II, which I liked, and the other was Pan’s Labyrinth (5), which I loved. Pan’s Labyrinth was one of the most disturbing/interesting movies I’ve ever seen. Actually, interesting doesn’t do it justice. Neither does fascinating. I had to look at a thesaurus to come up with words that might do it justice: compelling, engrossing, and riveting might begin to describe it.

    5) Pan’s Labyrinth is set in Spain during World War II. Its about a young girl named Ofelia who loves fairies and fairy tales, and she and her pregnant but sickly mother go to her stepfather’s house in the country. But her stepfather, Captain Vidal, is a brutal, unforgiving, and totalitarian idealist and leader of a squadron of fascist troops. But Ofelia escapes the distractions of this cruel and harsh world by traveling into the forest, chasing after fairies and other mythical creatures and fulfilling the legend of a princess. Wait a minute, escaping to the forest to retreat from a cruel and harsh world? That sounds a little like “Lines Composed a Few Miles Above Tintern Abbey” written by William Wordsworth (6)! How coincidental, and utterly seamless. But anyways, despite the fairies and such, Pan’s Labyrinth is not a movie for young children. In case anyone’s interested.

    6) William Wordsworth is an accomplished poet of the Romantic Era, and he wrote “Lines Composed a Few Miles Above Tintern Abbey”, which was a poem I really enjoyed. The first few lines invoked some pleasant imagery, but as the poem went on, it grew deep and depressing (because of the “never truly being free from the world of man” aspect of it, mainly). I really liked it, even though it was, well… depressing.

  5. 1) The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a movie starring Brad Pitt. It’s a movie about a man who gets life from a different perspective.
    2) Some people who experience life differently are blind.
    3) One person who is blind is Ray Charles.
    4) Ray Charles wrote music which is considered a type of poetry.
    5) There are poems that are simply read or spoken.
    6) One poem that is just meant for reading or speaking is Tinturn Abbey.

  6. 1)One of the newest films in theaters is the “Curious Case of Benjamin Button” with Brad Pitt. This film did quite well on the first opening weekend, however “Marley and Me” with Jennifer Anniston and Owen Wilson did better. This is surprising considering this was not expected to be more popular than a film with such wonderful special effects such as “Benjamin Button.”
    2) This was also interesting because there is an unspoken rivalry between the fans of Jennifer Anniston and those of Brad Pitt because he is suspected of cheating on Jen with Angelina Jolie. Angelina has also recently been in a movie, “The Changeling,” this was said to be a fantastic and touching film. Jolie plays a mother who believes that she has been given a child that is not hers and delivers a fantastic performance.
    3) Jolie’s character has a true love for her child and this love did not develop among parents until after the Enlightenment in the late 1700s. Prior to this movement children were simply born to aid their parents with their work. And following the Enlightenment parents developed a love for their children and a respect for their abilities.
    4) All history books related to Ap European History outline this change considering this was such a significant shift in history. Not only do history books underline this change but movies do this as well. Movies also discuss other areas in history like “The other Boleyn Sister” with Natalie Portman and Scarlet Johansson. These movies are interesting and provide an insight to important areas in European history.
    5) Though they did not have movies to document history during the Enlightenment or the time of Henry VIII, writers documented the history of the times. Some writers and painters were labeled Romantics because they loved nature. These individuals were resistant to the industrial changes of the time and they felt as though nature was much more powerful than humankind.
    6) One such writer was William Wordsworth who loved and had a respect for nature. He was considered a Romantic and wrote such poems as “Tinturn Abbey.” In this poem he is describing how he cannot get back his youth or innocence and it could be assumed that this was relevant to the fact that he could not go back to the time when rural life was much more common than industrial life.

  7. I have not seen The Curious Case of Benjamin Button(1), but the trailer seemed interesting. I don’t exactly understand what the movie is about because there isn’t enough information in the trailer to figure it out. I would much rather not see enough information in the preview than have the movie be ruined though. I won’t see this movie in theatres but will probably rent it later. I rented The Princess Bride(2) yesterday.

    The Princess Bride(2) is a fantastic movie, and an even better book. I saw the movie for the first time in 7th grade and thought it was amazing. The book ended up being a summer reading choice and is now one of my favorite books. Another favorite of mine is the Harry Potter series(3).

    There are many people who enjoy Harry Potter(3), but I have bit of an obsession with it and actually went into a slight depression when the books were finished. I was so excited when the books went to the big screen, but like most book to movie transformations, the movie couldn’t compare. One exception to this is Lord of the Rings(4).

    When I attempted to read Lord of the Rings(4), i failed. There was so much description and Tolkien’s style isn’t for me. But when I saw the movie I thought it was fantastic. This does not happen too often and I was pleasantly surprised. The movies were extremely long and I made the mistake of having an all day LOTR marathon. I will never again have a movie marathon(5) with movies that are over 3 hours long.

    My Uncle is currently training for a marathon(5) and think he’s insane. I don’t understand what moves people to run for that long, but I’m not a very athletic person. I would much rather stay inside and read. A poem that I recently read for school by William Wordsworth(6) called Composed a Few Miles Above Tintern Abbey, On Revisiting The Banks of The Wye During a Tour. July 13, 1798.

  8. 6 degrees of Separation
    Step 1: “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” (1) is about Benjamin, played by Brad Pitt, who is born an old man and gets a day younger every day.

    Step 2: “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” (1) is on the top 10 movies according to Top 10 Everything of 2008 (2) by the staff of Time magazine, in collaboration with karlssonwilker inc. This movie was ranked number six while number one was WALL-E. Here are the top 10 movies:
    1. WALL-E (U.S.)
    2. Synecdoche, New York (U.S.)
    3. My Winnipeg (Canada)
    4. 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days (Romania)
    5. Milk (U.S)
    6. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (U.S.)
    7. Slumdog Millionaire (U.K./India)
    8. Iron Man (U.S.)
    9. Speed Racer (U.S.)
    10. Encounters at the End of the World (U.S./Germany/Antarctica)

    Step 3: I received the Top 10 Everything 0f 2008 (2) magazine from my Computer Science (3) class as a part of a homework assignment. Since, I just said I am in Computer Science, some people probably know who I am. I will be attending a one day trip for a Computer Science Programming Contest in Houston on Saturday. I actually would not mind going if we did not have to get up so early in the morning so we can be dropped off at our school at 3:30am and leave together to go to Houston. I am also not very happy that I have a lot of homework during my two day weekend.

    Step 4: Computer Science (3) is my zero hour class. Another class of mine is English (4). In English, I am currently doing the 6 degrees of separation blog for the first time. I don’t know if I can do any trivia on this one since we are in English class. I have thought of mentioning something in your room but I don’t remember what we have already mentioned in your room.

    Step 5: In English (4) class, we have a big, thick book (5). My mom complains that my backpack is always too heavy especially if I have a lot of books in there or if my thick green book is in there and claims that it is going to ruin my back if it hasn’t already which she is probably right. She also thinks that the school makes us use heavy books so it will look like we are very intelligent although I think she was half joking at the time.

    Step 6: In our thick English book (5), there are many great poems and other classic literature texts. The numerous famous poems also have well known poets including the Romantic Era poets. One of the Romantic Era poets that we are currently studying is William Wordsworth (6) who wrote “Lines Composed a Few Miles above Tintern Abbey” or “Tintern Abbey” for short.

  9. This one was really difficult. Kudos, Frederick Douglas.

    STEP ONE: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button(1) is a story about a man who is born old and grows younger. It was a really touching story starring Brad Pitt. The movie is long, almost three hours, but in my opinion it was definitely a movie worth seeing. That is, if you have a long enough attention span for it. It’s based off of a short story written by F. Scott Fitzgerald(2) in 1921.

    STEP TWO: F. Scott Fitzgerald’s(2) full name is Francis Scott Key Fitzgerald. Yes yes yes, he is named after the jolly man (Was he jolly? I really don’t know. That just seemed fitting.) who wrote our national anthem. Fitzgerald can be thanked (or cursed, depending on your opinion) for writing The Great Gatsby, This Side of Paradise, and The Crack-Up, among others. He married his wife, Zelda, on April 3, 1920 at St. Patrick’s Cathedral(3) in New York City.
    I would like to take this moment to acknowledge how cool it would be to know somebody named Zelda. He was a lucky man, F. Scott.

    STEP THREE: St. Patrick’s Cathedral is a pretty cool place. It was begun in 1858 by Archbishop John Hughes and the doors opened in May, 1879. St. Patrick’s is the largest gothic decorated Catholic cathedral in the U.S. It is a center of Catholic life in this country. Something else cool about it? It is the seat of Edward M. Egan(4), the Archbishop of the empire state.

    STEP FOUR: Edward Michael Cardinal Egan was born and raised in Oak Park, Illinois. When asked what his biggest accomplishment as bishop was, he said, “I always think my biggest accomplishment as a bishop and as a priest is to lead the people in prayer. I would never think that anything I could do in any other effort would be equal to that.”
    What a nice little man.
    He is currently seventy-six, and at seventy-five he was required by Canon law(5) to submit his resignation. But the good ol’ Pope hasn’t accepted it yet, as was done with the man before Egan, so he is still archbishoping it up.

    STEP FIVE: Canon law is an ecclesiastical law that governs the Roman Catholic Church, the Eastern Orthodox churches, and the Anglican Communion of churches. The Anglican church is also known as The Church of England(6), by the way. Canon law is composed of seven books, each book with several parts. Did you know you can’t even translate it into another language without permission? Kewl.

    STEP SIX: England is where William Wordsworth lived! HOORAY! He was married four times. (Did you know that there are no more terms after thrice? Way to slay all my fun, English Language.) He is obviously a man of quantity, because on top of his quadruple-marriage, he wrote a ridiculous amount of poetry. No really, do you have ANY idea how much there is? I was going to list a few but I don’t know where to start. I’ll just slide you the link:

    http://www.bartleby.com/145/wordchrono.html

    That is all:)

    P.S. If you were confused by the Frederick Douglas comment, he has a beard. Tehe.

  10. ~1. I saw The Curious Case of Benjamin Button(1) and thought it was a very long but equally amazing movie. The film is about a man named Benjamin Button who was born under “unusual circumstances”(2). Benjamin is born as an old man, and proceeds to age backwards. Instead of growing older he grows younger. The movie follows him through his life as he leaves home, works, and falls in love.

    ~2. Another movie that presents “unusual circumstances”(2), is the movie I, Robot starring Will Smith. This movie is set in the future, in a world where robots(3) are everyday companions to humans. However, when a man is unexpectedly dead, everyone must face the fact that maybe these robots are smarter than they think. Basically, they try to take over the world and kill everyone.

    ~3. I remember when I was younger, I would think about life way in the future, and I would imagine having a robot(3) that could clean my room and do my homework for me. It’s wierd how back then that seemed soooooo amazing and crazy, but now that probably very possible. I think this is probably a little like how people felt during The Industrial Revolution(4). Well truthfully, that’s just what i think of when I see shiny metal things. Anyways, the Industrial Revolution was the introduction of new inventions and factories that greatly increased the rate and ease of production.

    ~4. Although it did eventually come to the United States, the Industrial Revolution(4) started in Enlgand(5) around 1733. When I went to England 2 years ago, I had an amazing time despite the horrible weather. I got to visit Big Ben and see the London Bridge and also ride that giant ferris wheel called The London Eye that lets you see miles both directions. Oh I also got to go to Buckingham Palace. All in all, it was an awesome trip. Woo England!

    ~5. England(5) isn’t famous for just it’s landmarks and giant red buses. It is also for the many literary geniuses that were born there. One of the most obvious being William Shakespeare. Also, for a more modern example, the author of Harry Potter books JK Rowling is from England! Lastly, the great poet William Wordsworth(6) was British.

    ~6. William Wordsworth(6) was an extremely important British poet who played a major role in the launching of the Romantic Era. While most poets still wrote about great ancient heroes, Wordsworth wrote about nature, children, and used simple language to convey his message. He wrote in a style and from a perspective that many more people could relate to and understand.

  11. 1) the Curious Case of Benjamin Button is the story of…the curious case of Benjamin Button. A boy who is born old, and grows young with time. Slightly backwards. Well, completely backwards. This movie stars Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett.

    2) Cate Blanchett was the star of ‘Elizabeth’ and ‘Elizabeth: the Golden Age’, both of which chronicled the life of Queen Elizabeth the First of England.

    3) Elizabeth I had beautiful red hair, a famous trait of the Tudors, her family. When she grew older, however, she began losing her hair. Thus, to protect her vanity (for she was a very vain woman), she wore a wig made out of her own hair, shaving it off before it all disappeared.

    4) Wigs are used to hide baldness. The word for wig comes from the French word ‘(per)ruque’, which later became the English word ‘periwig’.

    5) the French are famous for many things, though the origin of the word wig is probably not one of their more important contributions to society. The French Revolution is probably what they are most famous for, though the average Joe doesn’t know much about it. It resulted in a dictatorship ruled basically single-handedly by Napoleon Bonaparte. Napoleon ruled in the midst of the Romantic period.

    6) The Romantic period, which stretched from 1770-1830 ish, encouraged raw emotion, basically. An important Romantic writer was William Wordsworth, whose ‘Lines Composed a Few Miles above Tintern Abbey’ is a much-referenced poem.

  12. 1. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button was originally a short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Fitzgerald wrote it in 1921, four years before his most famous work, The Great Gatsby.

    2. F. Scott Fitzgerald was good friends with another famous author, Ernest Hemingway. The two men would often exchange manuscripts and it was Fitzgerald who greatly promoted Hemingway’s promising career. Hemingway is noted for his short, simple sentences which collectively create some of the greatest literary symbols and themes.

    3. One of Hemingway’s most famous works is A Farewell to Arms. Written in 1929, the story focuses on an ambulance driver, Frederic Henry, and a hospital nurse with whom he falls in love, Catherine Barkley. The story is centered in the Italian front during World War I.

    4. One of the greatest recurrences throughout the story is the constant rainfall that plagues the characters. At one point, Catherine remarks that the rain frightens her, and it is at the tragic end of the novel that Henry returns to his hotel, pelted by the rainfall.

    5. Rain is frequently a subject used in poetry, such as Percy Shelley’s The Fitful Alternations of the Rain. Shelley is also greatly known for penning the delightful Ozymandias, Prometheus Unbound, and being married to Mary Shelley, the author of Frankenstein.

    6. Shelley belongs to a group of poets who reigned during the Romantic period. These poets focused on the beauty and glory of nature without using ‘inflated’ language. Other famous Romantic poets include William Wordsworth, Lord Byron, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, John Keats, and William Blake.

  13. Step 1: In the Movie, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,” a memorable line by one Mr. Daws is, “Did I ever tell you I been struck by lightning seven times?” This is interesting, considering another Benjamin, one Benjamin Franklin (2) was curious about lightning and did a famous experiment with his kite. Benjamin Franklin proved that lightning was natural electricity, of course.

    Step 2: Benjamin Franklin was a man of many talents, excelling as an inventor, scientist, writer, and politician, to name a few. A member of founding father of United States, he was born on January 17, 1706, on Milk Street, Boston, Massachusetts (3).

    Step 3: Massachusetts was one of thirteen colonies of Great Britain during the eighteenth century. Although a relatively small state, Massachusetts played a very significant role in the United States’ history, as it was the second permanent English settlement in North America and soon known as the “cradle of liberty” for its role in the Revolutionary War (4)

    Step 4: The American Revolutionary War, also known as Independence War, lasted from 1775 to 1783 and resulted in the thirteen colonists overthrowing the British rule. The war was formally concluded by Treaty of Paris (5), because Paris was considered a “neutral” ground for negotiating and signing. The British agreed to recognize American independence, and the American Congress of the Confederation ratified the treaty of Paris on January 14, 1784.

    Step 5: Paris, France, around this time was teeming with the Republican movement. Louis XVI had supported the Americans during the American Revolution, and brought further financial burden to France, and the French citizens revolted. The French Revolution lasted from 1789 to 1791, at which time a young British writer, William Wordsworth (6) visited Paris.

    Step 6. William Wordsworth visited Revolutionary France and fell in love with a French woman, Annette Vallon, who in 1792 gave birth to their child Caroline. The ensuing Reign of Terror and war between France and Britain prevented Wordsworth from seeing Annette and Caroline for several years. Some suggests that Wordsworth may have been depressed in the mid 1790’s due to the estrangement. Still, Wordsworth published his first poetry collections, An Evening Walk and Descriptive Sketches, in 1793.

  14. 1) “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” (1) looks like a great movie. It is about a man who, curiously, appears to age backwards as time passes. According to critics (2), this movie rates somewhat high. I have not seen this movie yet but hope to soon as I am intrigued by the story.

    2) Critics (2) are generally people who critique movies, magazines, food, and anything you can think of that is available to the general public before it is released to them. The vast majority of critics are movie critics, who seem to have a tendency to bash comedies and horror movies the most. The film most well recieved this year from critics was a Pixar film called “Wall-E” (3).

    3) I saw Wall-E (3) with a fellow classmate and thought it was one of the best animated films ever made. The story is of a robot, who, left on our planet to clean up a trash-filled and polluted Earth, continues to do his job even though the humans have left and have given up hope of ever returning to their planet. Wall-E eventually discovers a live plant (4), the key for people to return to earth again, and along the way finds Eve, a robot he falls in love with.

    4) Plants (4) are organisms that depend on carbon dioxide and sunlight to carry out photosynthesis, expelling oxygen in the process. There are many types of plants, but probably the most important to us are trees. They can live up to hundreds of years, but have been suffering deforestation since the Middle Ages (5).

    5) The Middle Ages (5) was a time period in European history before the Renaissance and industrialization of Europe began. During the Renaissance, society began to urbanize, as farmers started chopping down trees and clearing out forests to create more farmland for their survival and for the economy. Time periods and people following the Middle Ages were the Renaissance and its thinkers, the Enlightenment and its philosophes, and the Romantic Era and its poets (6).

    6) The Romantic Era was a period of time in response to the rationalization efforts of the philosophes during the Enlightenment, a movement that used reason-based facts to explain the mechanisms of nature. (Yay for AP Euro!) Romanticism art and literature focused usually on the sublime, or subjects in nature that inspired powerful emotions. One such writer and poet that evoked perhaps the strongest sense of this was William Wordsworth, a poet (6) of the Romantic Era. Author of ‘Tintern Abbey’, Wordsworth emphasizes the resentment he has for industrialization and the separation he has with nature, urging others to appreciate and be overwhelmed by its forces.

  15. Student Response #1

    I am responding to student number 8.

    I have to admit, i chuckled a few times while I was reading your blog entry. My mom also complains about how big our school books are. Also, thank you for explaining what The Curious Case of Benjamin Button was about! I keep seeing the trailer but it’s very hard to understand and I had no clue what the movie was actually about. I’ll probably go and see it now, it sounds like an interesting film. I was proud to see that Speed Racer made it on the top 10 list because I personally adored that movie. So many people disagree but I think that their views of the movie are different because they are comparing it to the original television show. When I consider this, their opinion makes a lot of sense because the original series was AMAZING. I think ChristinaRicci did a phenomenal job in the film, she is probably one of my favorite actresses and I loved her in The Addams Family.

  16. Student Respose #2

    I’m responding to Student #4.

    I haven’t read many graphic novels, but the one you describe sounds very interesting. And Pan’s Labyrinth has been at the bottom of my list of movies I want to see, but now I think it’s at the top. It sounds really cool! (Nice vocabulary, by the way.) Your description reminds me of another very disturbing/interesting movie I really like called Princess Mononoke. It’s about a girl who lives with wolves, fighting mankind to save the Great Forest Spirit, and the forest itself. (In case anyone’s interested.)

    That is so cool how Pan’s Labyrinth fit right in with William Wordsworth’s poem. Hmm, Ophelia…reminds me of another William…

  17. Student Response #3

    I am responding to student #4.

    First off, I would like to say that I enjoyed reading over the subjects that you used to compare “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” to William Wordsworth. I enjoyed that you implied some comic references and took the time to give some backround detail into the comics and “Pan’s Labrynth.” It also caught me by suprise because I did not expect someone to use any kind of comic reference. You are right though, “Hellboy” and “Pan’s Labrynth” are both two great movies.

    It doesn’t look like you rushed it at all. You explained what you were talking about and helped people that haven’t seen the movies or read the comics understand the concepts. I also want to add that I enjoy some of the Dark Horse Comics. Your transition from “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” to William Wordsworth was a smooth transition and I enjoyed it.

  18. Student Response #4

    I am responding to student #11.

    I love the reference to the Queen Elizabeth movies, I am such a fan of historical movies, especially those related to European history. I have yet to see either of the Elizabeth movies, but I found the fact that she shaved her head to be really interesting. I have just now seen “The Other Boleyn Girl”, with Natalie Portman and Scarlet Johansson and it was amazing. And the explanation of the origin of wig, was very clever I thought because many people would not know where to go from here.

    Though some points in this blog entry lacked in length, I believe the connection to European history and movies totally made up for that. Also I thought the use of the phrase “Average Joe” was nice, and it made me smile. Just the fact that this phrase was used in the same couple of sentences where the reign of one of the most beloved rulers in English history was discussed, was classic. This entry was exactly what it needed to be factual and very clever.

  19. Student Response #5

    I’m responding to Student #4.

    For one I like comics and I’ve seen Hellboy 2 (thought it was ok), and Pan’s Labryinth. I think it was clever to tie the movies’ story with the story of “Tintern Abbey”. It surprised me the most and stood out. The reason it stood out because both I’ve seen the movie and when you said that it clicked into my head. That’s actually right. Maybe you could’ve just connected directly to movies instead of connecting through the comics, but that’s ok. Other than that I have to give you credit for adding in Pan’s Labryinth which I think is a good movie to see. If you haven’t seen it go see it.

  20. Student Response #6

    I am responding to student 12.

    I was randomly flipping through these posts, trying to find one that inspired me to post about. I read yours and was impressed.

    Literature was the main subject that connected your six ideas, from beginning to end. Staying in one family shows that the transition was both easy and natural for you to grasp.

    Also, unlike many other posts that just spout information looked up on Wikipedia, yours sounds like you really know what you are talking about. Even if you didn’t and you utilized the great resource of the Internet, you make it sound like that is all previous knowledge that you called upon for this one entry.

    Your post comes off as sincere because of the impression you leave that suggests that you know and have previously invested time into knowing a subject that you enjoy: literature.

  21. Student Response #7

    I am responding to Student 6:

    First of all, I am impressed with your knowledge of pop culture. I had no idea Brad Pitt would dare to cheat on Jennifer Aniston with Angelina Jolie! Who does he think he is?! (Note: the last sentence was not sarcastic.) Also, that kind of stinks that Marley and Me did better than The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (heretofore know as CCBB). CCBB just seemed a lot more interesting than Marley and Me. I’ve only read This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald but it was great, so I wish that CCBB would’ve gotten more attention than it did. Well, back to Angelina Jolie, i.e. The Changeling.

    I’ve never heard of that movie, but the love that Jolie’s character shows the child that may or may not be hers sound pretty heartwarming. But I must admit I had no previous knowledge of parents not loving their children until AFTER the Enlightenment. I thought that all creatures of the earth always had an innate, loving devotion towards their offspring, but hey, I guess you learn something new every day.

    “The Other Boleyn Sister”, eh? I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it. I think the only movie that I’ve seen that took place during the Enlightenment was… well I don’t think I’ve seen any (save for documentaries). I also thought that Romantics were just poets who had impractical and romantic ideas and attitudes, I didn’t think it had anything to do with nature in particular. And I’m not sure I agree that Wordsworth was talking about wanting to do away with the Industrial Revolution, I thought he just wanted to get back to his childhood. I mean, even farmers, artisans, and merchants had to conform to the schedule of civilization.

  22. Student Response #8

    I am responding to student #7

    First off I think it’s really creative how you got to The Princess Bride from Benjamin Button. I probably never would have thought of something like that.

    Second of all I love Harry Potter also. If you haven’t seen these although you probably have, go look up potter puppet pals on YouTube. They are really funny.

    Next I also didn’t like the Lord of the Rings books, but the movies were enjoyable. It is true that the movies are a little long, but as long as you have plenty of popcorn you should be set. Let’s see, next is movie marathons. I love movie marathons. My friends and I try to have at least one every month. Except we have no theme, we just pick random movies. Anyway last are marathons, which I also think are way too difficult. I am not an athletic person and reading is definitely a better way to spend the day.

  23. Student Response #9

    I am responding to Student#10.

    I thought it was cool how you were able to link I Robot to the Industrial Revolution. When I first thought about the future, I always thought it would be beneficial. Cooking, cleaning, pretty much everthing would be revolutionized. Everything would become much more easily accomplished. But when I saw I Robot, I realized not everything in the future might be so well. Everything does not turn out perfect according to plan. I have not watched Benjamin Button, but I hope it is as good as I Robot. I should probably watch it, after the comments on the page.

  24. Student Response #10

    I am responding to Student 11

    I really liked how the student used a lot of different components to pull their 6 degrees together. They went through pop culture (Cate Blanchett), the historical (Elizabeth I), and then the slightly-nerdy (origin of the word wig).

    I also liked this one because I learned a lot of things I never knew about before, like Queen Elizabeth shaving off her hair to make a wig and the origin of the word ‘wig’. Didn’t Elizabeth get small pox and then she started losing her hair? I think I read that on Wikipedia one day.

    Finally, they pulled the 6 degrees together nicely by going through Napoleon and then the Romantic age. I have never associated the Little General with the glorious poetry written during his lifetime before.

  25. Student Response #11

    Mr. Long: Which student did you respond to???

    ***

    I never saw” The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” before, but it sounds not bad the name sounds very cool too. But you take out “Wall- E” this anime make me very want to respond to you. Myself sometimes just an anime lover, but I didn’t see a lot of anime or cartoon, because I don’t have times. But Wall- E was one of good anime that I have seen, it talks about Wall- E’s funny story, and other way is to warning people that if we don’t take care of our nature, earth will be like a trash planet just like in the movie, this movie can help not only children it can warning to everyone that had seen this movie it can also help us to keep behavior ourselves don’t cut too many trees or don’t throw the trash anywhere. And now the robot are very popular now, it can talk and dance, which is very cool, but those robot can only do the some few stuffs its not perfect yet, I hope this technology can be done soon, it will helps the human a lot( if you use them in the right way)

  26. Student Response #12

    Responding to student #3

    I found it immensely clever that you noticed and noted upon the alliteration in the title of ‘The Curious Case of Benjamin Button’! Alliteration, though by no means underutilized, has become slightly unappreciated, in my humble opinion. Like, we look at brand names and gas station names and…it just gets old.

    Also, the fact that you mentioned different kinds of peppers…was way cool. I was very confused about where you were going, especially when you started going on about vegetation. Then you totally turned it around! I really enjoy it when people do that, because it makes it more interesting. Quite interesting how you found that other poem by Wordsworth, I would never have thought of that!

  27. Student Response #13

    I’m responding to Student #12

    I like how you melt your paragraphs together to truly tell a story. It does not seem like you forced the story. Your blog is cohesive and interesting. You use transition sentences well. I also enjoyed getting a mini- literary history lesson. The length of your blog was just right – not too short and not too long.

    I really enjoyed the line, “These poets focused on the beauty and glory of nature without using ‘inflated’ language.” To me, that line indicates that you are a follower of the Romantic Period and its many great literary contributors, as well as the literature itself.

    I am equally impressed that you seem familiar with Percy Shelley’s poem, The Fitful Alternations of the Rain.

    I must respectfully disagree with you on just one of your descriptions. You referred to Ozymandias as “delightful.” Maybe I am alone, however I would describe Ozymandias as difficult to understand at times, and even harder to memorize.

    Overall you did a very commendable job on connecting the “Six Degrees of Separation” dots.

  28. Student Response #14

    I am responding to student #13.

    I have not yet seen the movie, but I plan to eventually watch it. Unfortunately, I do not think I will be seeing until it is capable of being rented because it will be cheaper renting it.

    Even though I have not yet seen it, I also thought of Benjamin Franklin from just reading the title. In fact, I think I misread the title the first time, reading it as Benjamin Franklin rather that Benjamin Button even though Button does not look anything Franklin. I think my mind immediately thinks of Benjamin Franklin whenever I see the word Benjamin.
    Interesting, I did not know that he was born on Milk Street. I find it a peculiar name for a street although many street names seem strange. This particular street name really grabs my attention for some reason and I think I will probably always remember what street Benjamin Franklin was born on.

  29. Student Response #15

    I am responding to student # 2

    That is very interesting how you connected those! You know exactly what you are talking about too, because I would have never known that David Fincher was thanked in the credits of WALL-E. Very smart!

    I also like how you connected machines with Cockermouth with William! Many, including me, would have ever known that Cockermouth was credited with piloting the first electric lighting.

    That shows you did a little research. Or maybe you did a little extra reading in the book. Overall your entry was very creative; I like the use of extra information and key facts to make your 6 connections!

  30. Student Response #16

    I am responding to student number 2.

    You obviously pay great attention to detail. I definitely did not notice that the director of the curious of Benjamin Button was David Fincher and really did not know he was thanked at the end of Wall-E. Now, thanks to that I am desperately wondering why he was thanked and Google is not helping me. Also I did not even know that Cockermouth existed let alone know Wordsworth was born there.

    So thanks for educating me in some new obscure facts. After all, isn’t that the point of this blog entry?

    I also like how you used the definitions of words to make your six steps, I did not think of that and it is a really neat idea, I will probably utilize it in the future.

  31. Student Response #17

    I am responding to student # 9.

    I was really and still am really impressed by the way people can put two absolutely non-common things together in only six steps. I really enjoyed how every step had little quote or funny comment that definetly made me want to immediatly skip to the next step and see what hilarious comment might spring at me. Your way of writing is easy to read which is great, when your reading about things that don’t have much interest to you.

    Speaking of interest, you even made all of those little steps seem interesting, like step 5 which would be the most skipped over sentence in a history book. It was quite impressive to see all these kind of “random” objects come together as one and you did a great job explaining how they were connected. I also saw that you saw things from different point of views as you were writing, like the the ‘National Anthem’ comment. I also really enjoyed all the not-really on subject bus still related comment’s were thrown in there, which definetly is a nice change when reading .

    I agree, they should invent more words for after ‘thrice’, maybe you can do that! Just a suggestion…

  32. Student Response #13

    I am responding to student #10

    I really liked this 6 steps for a number of reasons. Although the jump from “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” to “I, Robot” was a bit sketchy I loved the connection. I, Robot was a great movie and certainly had “unusual circumstances,” hehe. I thought connecting robots to the Industrial Revolution was really cool too. Its probably just my inner history-nerd talking, but I think connecting ‘shiny metal things’ to the Industrial Revolution, two of my favorite things, is pretty awesome. I also liked the whirlwind description of England. After that, the literary nods to Shakespeare and JK Rowling were nice. Lastly I really liked the examination of the style, impact, and appeal of Wordsworth; I found it both interesting and informative. I liked this post because it was clearly written on previous knowledge and personal insite and experience and was a refreshing break from research heavy wikipedia entries.

  33. Student Response #14

    REsponding to student #11

    I like how you know facts about all the information given, but I don’t think you have really connected them. It shows that you have done some research on these topics though. However, it seems a bit forced.

    You have not put enough thought into how to connect all these place or things together. You might have needed to expand on each topic a bit. You should have to write a bit more to fully connect the topics.

    I like the term “average joe” …pretty cool. (smile)

  34. Student Response #15

    I am responding to Student No. 12

    I felt that your entry did several things I myself like about doing the Six Degrees blogs. For one thing, it was informative with interesting details. I was interested to know that F. Scott Fitzgerald was friends with one of my favorite writer, Hemingway, and that Fitzgerald helped Hemingway. These types of details help you understand the lives and the times of the writers and put their writings into context. Because they are contemporaries, it makes sense that many of the characters by both Fitzgerald and Hemingway have the “lost generation” feel about them.

    Your mention of the recurring rain in Hemingway’s books as well as Shelley’s poems is also interesting. It shows how writers use symbols to convey mood of the setting, explain a character’s actions, or to foretell a future event.

    Finally, you tied up the Separation by connecting Shelly to all the Romantic-era writers, including Wordsworth. I thought that was neat and did the trick, considering how impossible it seemed at first that a brand-new movie would be somehow connected to an 18th century Romantic writer.

  35. Student Response #16

    I am responding to Student #14.

    I have always thought that it would be really cool to be a movie critic. You would get to see movies before anyone else did, and you would have alot of influence on the public. It would also be awesome to be a food critic. You would be able to get into exclusive restaurants and eat amazing food. Also, you and I are in total agreement on the movie WALL-E. I loved how there wasn’t even any actual dialogue for the whole first half of the movie, but it was still really entertaining. It is definitely one of my favorite animated films(:

  36. Student Response #17

    I am responding to Student 3

    I think it was clever how you moved from Benjamin Button to Peter Piper, by linking the two in common by the mutual use of alliteration. That was a very astute move. The mention of Peter Piper brought back a memory I have of when I was in the first grade. Our teacher was trying to help us with our pronunciation and enunciation. We had a contest to see which student could actually get through the alliterative, tongue-twisting nightmare the quickest, with no mistakes. The final two contestants were my best friend and I. Sadly, my best friend won the contest. I remember being angry with her. Admittedly, it was a very childish moment, but one I will treasure because it is so silly.

    Thanks for giving me a moment to reflect back! Your creativity was also evident as you took Piper to “The Thorn.”

  37. Student Response #18

    Im responding to student #8

    First, I dont know who you are so, no worries. I just know that you must be pretty smart. 🙂

    Also I think its pretty cool that you know the top 10 movies according to Time magazine, I definitly wouldnt have know that. Even though I love to read, magazines arent my thing. Unless they’re about animals, thats a different story. Anyways, in step 5 you mentioned your mom complaining about your heavy backpack and that you’re going to have back problems and stuff. I just thought it was kind of funny ‘cuz my mom AND dad are always telling me stuff like that too. Even though im a girl, im pretty strong, and I’ve been going here for so long, im sure my back is used to it by now, lol. 🙂

  38. Student Response #19

    I’m responding to student #12

    I was amazed by the knowledge of literature shown in your post. The first “step” was interesting to me because after I saw the movie I immediately wondered who came up with this crazy idea. “Step” 3 and 4 may have inspired me to read “A farewell to Arms”. Obviously you have some knowledge of this book noticing the “constant rainfall that plagues the characters”. I like the way you incorporated “Frankenstein” in the last two “steps”, something the whole class of 2011 should be in knowledge of by now. Although it may not seem to be Shelly and Woodsworth’s writing is very alike, a sense of the unknown forces that we humans cannot and should not fool around with. The direction and flow of the post is good which is the goal with the “six steps” and I rather enjoyed reading it.

  39. Student Response #20

    I’m responding to student # 4

    I loved your entry because it was so creative and so well thought out. You really knew what you were talking about and it shined through here. I loved the way everything was connected in the most natural way. You didn’t stretch it and it’s obvious you put a lot of time into this. Each step flowed really easily. It’s also nice that you weren’t even a little lazy about it and really took the time to fully explain everything. Plus, you gave me a movie I really want to see now! So thank you for that!

  40. Student Response #21

    I am responding to Student #1

    I liked the way you were able to connect your thoughts using things you already knew. You used subject matter that you understood and it seemed like you were very passionate about what you were talking about. This post was very detailed and you did a good job of explaining your feelings toward your video games. I like how you made your post very personal in a way that a reader would be able to really know your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

